Oro Valley Public Library kicks off summer reading - Tucson Local Media: News

Oro Valley Public Library kicks off summer reading

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, June 5, 2013 4:00 am

Besides spending hours in the pool under the hot summer sun, Pima County encourages their children to take time during the summer to engage their minds by reading a variety of books.

Oro Valley Public Library, in participation with the Pima County program, is just one of many libraries that offers a summer reading program along with workshops and presentations that provide children with opportunities to continue learning during the summer.

The summer reading program at the Oro Valley Public Library gives out prizes once their readers reach a certain amount of hours. This provides incentive for the kids to continue reading as well as visit the library frequently. The reading program gives three different goals that the children are encouraged to meet. Each goal, in the end, enables the reader to complete the entire summer reading challenge. Readers can choose to either read 20 hours or read eight books. If they complete either they complete the summer reading challenge.

For every five hours of reading, a child can visit the library and receive a prize. Prizes include things such as: books, stickers, activity lists, zoo party pass, dig the desert, Breakers Water Park tickets and at the end a certificate for their accomplishment.

Along with the summer reading programs, Oro Valley Public Library offers presentations and skits for kids. 

Other shows at Oro Valley Public Library include: Dinosaur Discoveries, Rocket Demo, Magic Show, Ronald McDonald, Tohono Chul Desert Players, Capoeira Mandinga Tucson, Juggling and More Fun Show, Big Drum Culture, Messy Science and Spin Pop Boom.

Libraries such as the Geasa Marana Community Library and the Nanini Branch Public Library also offer the same summer reading programs. Skits and presentations are different but also offered at these two libraries.

GEASA-MARANA COMMUNITY LIBRARY

Magic Show 

Friday, June 7 at 2:30 p.m.

Magic Workshop 

Friday, June 7 at 3:30 p.m.

Hands On Science-Rocket Demo

 Friday, June 21 10:30 a.m.

Juggling and More Fun Performance Thursday, July 11 at 10:30 a.m.

A-Long’s Kung Fu Academy 

Saturday, July 20 at 11 a.m.

 

ORO VALLEY PUBLIC LIBRARY

Rocket Demo 

Thursday, June 6 at 1 p.m.  

Magic Show 

Monday, June 10 at 2 p.m.

Ronald McDonald

Tuesday, June 18 at 2 p.m.

Tohono Chul Desert Players 

Wednesday, June 19 at 2 p.m.

Capoeira Mandinga Tucson 

Saturday, June 22 at 2:30 p.m.

Juggling and More Fun Show 

 Monday, July 8 at 2 p.m.

Big Drum Culture 

Saturday, July 13 at 3 p.m.

Messy Science 

Monday, July 15 at 12:30 p.m.

Spin Pop Boom 

Wednesday, July 17 at 3 p.m.

NANINI BRANCH PUBLIC LIBRARY

Creatures of the Night 

Thursday, June 6 at 2 p.m.

It’s as Easy as Scratch 

Monday, June 10 at 2 p.m.

Magic Workshop 

Tuesday, June 11 at 3:30 p.m.

Magic Show

Tuesday, June 11 at 2 p.m.

Teens Writing Fiction Workshop 

Thursday, June 13 at 1 p.m.

Elementary Drawing 

Friday, June 14 at 3 p.m.

Bead a Cell Phone Charm 

Saturday, June 15 at 1 p.m.

Photo Editing Online 

Monday, June 17 at 2 p.m.

Dinosaur Discoveries 

Thursday, June 20 at 2 p.m.

Hands on Science-Earthworks 

Thursday, June 27 at 2 p.m. 

and 3:30 p.m.

Basic Music Editing 

Monday, July 1 at 2 p.m.

Ronald McDonald 

Tuesday, July 9 at 2 p.m.

Juggling and More Fun

Friday, July 12 at 3 p.m.

Dig Into Reading-Digging, 

Tunneling, Excavating 

Thursday July 18 at 2 p.m.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Featured Videos

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Online poll

Loading…

Follow us on Facebook