What's Up UA? - Mentoring a Better Future - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's Up UA? - Mentoring a Better Future

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, February 10, 2013 2:14 pm

Paul Blowers, PhD, originally took on the profession of chemical engineer as a personal challenge. Growing up in his home town in northern Michigan, he saw others bested by the field – and that only drove him harder.

“The town pharmacist had tried to become a chemical engineer and he didn’t make it. And then the county superintendent had tried to become a chemical engineer, and he didn’t make it. And the school superintendent who was coach of our golf team had tried, and he didn’t make it either,” he remembers.

“I said, ‘This has got to be really hard. That’s what I want to do.’”

Today, Blowers is an associate professor in the UA College of Engineering in theDepartment of Chemical and Environmental Engineering.  He loves everything about the discipline, and is determined to help his students succeed in the face of those same challenges.

Styling Teaching for Optimal Learning

“The students remind me a lot of myself,” he says. “Many of them are first to go to college. Many of them are maybe coming out of disadvantaged schools, where the high school wasn’t very strong.”

As a computational scientist and educator, he searches for new ways to engage learners both in and out of the classroom. He has made active learning techniques central to his teaching style. For example, if students are struggling with a challenging concept during a lecture, he stops talking – and lets the students figure out the problem for themselves.

“Yesterday in my sophomore class, we spent fifty minutes solving one problem,” he says. He remembers the time as fantastic, as “the energy level in the classroom and the amount of discussion and the arguments – and the heated arguments – with me just occasionally answering questions in front of everyone” truly engaged the students in the learning process.

“I walked out of that class thinking, They have it. They have it now,” he recalls. “Because they had the time to think about it.”

Blowers teaches by example, encouraging his students to explore every aspect of a problem.

On one occasion, a student asked Blowers an especially good question – one that really stumped him.

“I said, ‘that is a really good question, and I have no idea what the answer is. You need to go find some more papers and we will figure out what the next step is. I don’t know.’”

Blowers has learned that when students see their teachers as real people who don’t always have the answers, “they’re given a lot more power. And then they get to learn these tools of research.”

Dedicated Global Citizen

Known internationally, Blowers was the first to apply computational chemistry to predict the environmental impact of many chemicals and their effect on global warming.

“You look at the toxicity of the thing that might be out there and how we don’t necessarily know whether something is going to be good or bad, but we don’t know enough to not do those things yet.”

Given that perspective, and his appreciation for nature that came from growing up on the edge of a small town in Northern Michigan, he now takes his role as a good citizen of the Earth seriously.

“One of my research areas is life-cycle assessment, categorizing the environmental sustainability of different technology choices,” he says. “And if you look at my lifestyle, I try and be pretty environmental. Two weekends ago I did a spaghetti marinara, made completely in the solar oven. I bike to work, and when I don’t bike, I’m walking. Recently, I just went three weeks without getting into any motorized vehicle.”

When it comes to engineering a better future, Blowers practices what he teaches, every day.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Wednesday 10/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Close Encounter 'One in a Million'

Monday 10/13/2014

What's Up UA? - Austin Hill: The Comeback Kid

Monday 10/06/2014

What's Up UA? - Health, Wellness Practices Highlighted by Chinese Culture Festival

Thursday 10/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Ready for a Super-Fast Internet? UA Scientists Are Fast at Work on It

Tuesday 09/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Using the Force: UA Police Officer Completes NASA Project

Monday 09/29/2014

What's Up UA? - How New Social Movements Take Root

Friday 09/26/2014

What's Up UA? - PBS 'NewsHour' to Feature Inspirational UA Student

Wednesday 09/24/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Paves Way to Redefine STEM Education

Monday 09/22/2014

What's Up UA? - Wildcats Rally, Hail Mary TD Defeats Cal, 49-45

Thursday 09/18/2014

What's Up UA? - When Job Loss Equals Weight Gain

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…
Loading…