What's up UA - Graduation activities set - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's up UA - Graduation activities set

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, May 4, 2012 8:55 am

Students are encouraged to inquire with their colleges for ceremony details and to visit the commencement website.

Starting this weekend, graduating University of Arizona students and their family members are invited to participate in various convocation ceremonies hosted by main campus and health science colleges, UA multicultural centers and other University departments.

Convocations provide an opportunity to further recognize graduating student accomplishments. A total of 4,206 undergraduate student degrees and more than 1,000 master's and doctoral degrees will be conferred during the UA's Spring Commencement ceremonies on May 11-12.

"The University of Arizona's Commencement Operations Team has worked diligently to ensure that our university-wide commencement ceremonies balance the dignity and decorum we as university leaders desire, while also offering festive celebrations of the accomplishments of our graduating students," UA President Eugene G. Sander said.

Students are advised to RSVP or inquire within their colleges for ceremony details and to visit the commencement website for more information about convocations.

In one of the largest UA convocations, the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences will honor its graduate and undergraduate students on May 11 at 2 p.m. at the Tucson Convention Center Arena.

The College of Fine Arts will host a combination undergraduate and graduate convocation ceremony at 5:30 p.m. on May 10 at Centennial Hall.

Convocations for the UA colleges of medicine, nursing, pharmacy and public health will be held during the following ceremonies:

* The Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health convocation will be held May 11 at 9:30 a.m. with a reception immediately following at the Temple of Music and Art, 330 S. Scott Ave.

* The College of Medicine convocation for doctors in medicine will be held May 11 at 3:30 p.m. at Centennial Hall. Dr. Richard Carmona, the 17th Surgeon General of the U.S. and Distinguished Professor of Public Health, will serve as the keynote speaker.

* The physiology convocation for undergraduates in the College of Medicine will be held May 11 at noon at the Student Union Memorial Center Grand Ballroom.

* The College of Nursing convocation will be held May 11 at 11 a.m. at Crowder Hall.

* The College of Pharmacy convocation will be held May 11 at 8 a.m. in Centennial Hall. Doors will open at 7:30 a.m., and a reception will follow.

The UA department of multicultural programs and services also will hold spring convocation ceremonies to recognize outstanding achievement.

The UA African American Student Affairs program will host its ceremony on May 7 at 5 p.m. in the Student Union Memorial Center North Ballroom.

The UA Asian Pacific American Student Affairs program will host its ceremony on May 5 at 5:30 p.m. with a reception in the Student Union Memorial Center South Ballroom from 6:30-8 p.m.

Chicano/Hispano Student Affairs will recognize student achievement in a ceremony to be held on May 9 from 5:30-7:30 p.m. at Centennial Hall, and the Native American Student Affairs program will host its ceremony on May 10 from 5:30-7:30 p.m. in the Student Union Memorial Center North Ballroom.

Students or family members with disabilities are invited to request accommodations or to inquire about access and seating for any UA-affiliated convocation or ceremony at the UA Disability Resource Center.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Thursday 09/18/2014

What's Up UA? - When Job Loss Equals Weight Gain

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Friday 03/07/2014

What's Up UA? - Seeing Cancer Differently

Wednesday 03/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Offers Accelerated Bachelor's to Master’s Program in Environmental Health Sciences

Tuesday 03/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Third-Ranked Men's Basketball Heads to Corvallis to Face OSU

Friday 02/28/2014

What's Up UA? - UA College of Optical Sciences to Celebrate 50th Anniversary With Laser Fun Day

Thursday 02/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Obesity-Related Gut Bacteria Higher in People in Northern Climes

Monday 02/24/2014

Wildcats Sweep Sunday Doubleheader, Series From Alcorn State

Thursday 02/20/2014

What's Up UA? - First-Year UA Minority Student Retention Rate Highest Ever

Monday 02/17/2014

What's Up UA? - The Flu and You

Friday 02/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Miller to Add to Arizona’s USA Basketball Legacy
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…