What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, May 30, 2014 1:40 pm

When cardiothoracic surgeon DrSreekumar Subramanian first saw Charles Barnes last November, he knew the odds were stacked against the patient. After suffering a massive heart attack, Barnes' kidneys were shutting down and his heart and lungs were failing. Based on his medical condition, Barnes, who was in a coma, was given a 25 percent chance of survival.

The heart team at the University of Arizona Medical Center and the UA Sarver Heart Center sprang into action and performed "hybrid" surgical procedures tailored to his condition to save his life. Hybrid cardiac surgery combines conventional surgery and catheter-based intervention, with cardiac surgeons and cardiologists working side-by-side to achieve the optimal result for the patient.

The procedure was risky because Barnes – who had several heart attacks starting in 2006 and had previous cardiac bypass surgery – was critically ill with severe lung and kidney dysfunction, and re-operating on a patient who has had previous heart surgery is challenging.

The tailored surgical treatment that gave Barnes a chance at recovery included complicated re-operative off-pump (beating heart) coronary artery bypass grafting, or CABG, which was followed by stenting to help blood flow in an artery that was too diseased for bypass. A stent is a small mesh tube used to treat narrow or weak arteries.

"Re-operative off-pump CABG is technically more complex and requires skilled anesthesiologists. This technique was chosen for Mr. Barnes because of his lung and kidney dysfunction. While minimally invasive heart surgery is an ideal option for some patients, a complex, open-heart surgery was required to save Barnes' life. We chose the redo sternotomy approach because of the condition of his lungs," Subramanian said.

"It's always higher risk than the first time around," Subramanian said. "With that risk of mortality, many surgeons will opt for stenting all the blocked arteries. We elected to go to the operating room because he is young and his best chance for long-term survival was to put an arterial bypass graft onto his main coronary artery."

"We tailored the approach for him," Subramanian said. "We used the internal mammary artery from the inside of the chest wall, which had not been used in the first operation, and that is the best graft material you can use to do bypass surgery. We connected that to his left anterior descending coronary artery."

After Barnes recovered well from that surgery, cardiologist Dr. Ranjith Shetty put a stent in an artery where bypass was not an option.

"It's a good example of a hybrid approach between surgery and cardiology to bring out the benefits of different technology and minimize the impact on the patient," Subramanian said.

The complex surgery was performed without the use of the heart-lung machine, which temporarily takes over for the heart and lungs during surgery.

"Although the heart-lung machine is extremely helpful for most heart operations, with his pre-existing lung and kidney dysfunction, it could have put Barnes at greater risk," Subramanian said.

Barnes was in a coma for almost two weeks of his hospitalization. He was transferred to a rehabilitation facility and now is at home, getting stronger. He is off the ventilator and dialysis.

"There is dramatic improvement in his heart function," Subramanian said. "It shows you what excellent perioperative care we have to help patients through really complex problems using a team approach."

Barnes and his wife of 33 years, Kim, are thankful for that team.

"I would have been dead without surgery," said Barnes, a civilian employee with the Pima County Sheriff's Department. "Now I'm getting stronger. I'm looking forward to puttering around the house. I'm looking forward to enjoying our life."

"Dr. Subramanian was always right there with us," Kim Barnes said. "He is a very wonderful doctor and he cares about his patients. I appreciate all the doctors and nurses. I will never forget them."

Barnes, an Air Force veteran, looks forward to taking walks and bike rides with his wife, and returning to work at the Pima County Sheriff's Department, where he repairs phones.

"It was a miracle," Kim Barnes said. "Dr. Subramanian will always be Dr. Superman to me."

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Wednesday 10/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Close Encounter 'One in a Million'

Monday 10/13/2014

What's Up UA? - Austin Hill: The Comeback Kid

Monday 10/06/2014

What's Up UA? - Health, Wellness Practices Highlighted by Chinese Culture Festival

Thursday 10/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Ready for a Super-Fast Internet? UA Scientists Are Fast at Work on It

Tuesday 09/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Using the Force: UA Police Officer Completes NASA Project

Monday 09/29/2014

What's Up UA? - How New Social Movements Take Root

Friday 09/26/2014

What's Up UA? - PBS 'NewsHour' to Feature Inspirational UA Student

Wednesday 09/24/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Paves Way to Redefine STEM Education

Monday 09/22/2014

What's Up UA? - Wildcats Rally, Hail Mary TD Defeats Cal, 49-45

Thursday 09/18/2014

What's Up UA? - When Job Loss Equals Weight Gain

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…
Loading…