What's up UA - The Science Foundation AZ, UA and high schools team up - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's up UA - The Science Foundation AZ, UA and high schools team up

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 29, 2012 2:52 pm | Updated: 7:16 am, Sat Jun 30, 2012.

In the midst of a worrying economy and less-than-flattering education statistics, a partnership between Science Foundation AZ (SFAz), the University of Arizona College of Engineering and Arizona high schools has managed to serve as a beacon of hope for Arizonans pessimistic about our state’s economic future.

A success story now four years running, SFAz’s STEM Initiatives aim to attract students from 20 schools throughout southern Arizona to pursue careers in the sciences and technology by way of enrollment in the UA’s Introduction to Engineering course — typically open to undergraduates — during their senior year in high school.

Johana Guzman and Cali Squire, both graduates of Flowing Wells High School's ENGR 102 course, say this class is very different from standard science classes, in that it more closely mimicked what they've come to learn is the real-life experience of an engineer.

Because the class was largely project-based, both agree that it was extremely "hands-on".

Squire said, "the pressure of project deadlines required us to come in on our own time."

Guzman added, "We always always always worked in teams and had to learn from our own mistakes. If something didn't work right, we had to figure out what went wrong and engineer a new way to solve the problem. I always knew I wanted to do something with rockets or planes, and I have always been pretty good at math and science. After taking this class, I knew my mind was set on engineering".

Now, a freshman at the UA studying aerospace engineering, Guzman credits the class with helping her find her path, adding that

"Without this class I am not sure I would have ended up doing what I love," she said.

Whereas the number of college students who stay in the Engineering program all four years is between 70 and 75 percent, Caroline VanIngen-Dunn, Manager of STEM Initiatives asserts that, “The average first-year retention rate among engineering students attending UA who were enrolled in the high school ENGR 102 course is 97 percent”.

Now a UA freshman, Cali Squire insists, "I am really grateful that I was exposed to that learning environment before I got to the UA, because it helped me adapt to the material presented at the college level."

Although she was decidedly less certain of a particular emphasis on which to conduct her studies, Squire said the course helped to spark an interest that allowed her to "get involved in clubs and research on campus," which ultimately led her to chemical engineering.

The purpose and the success of the program is in offering students an insight into the exciting, albeit challenging, coursework of a UA Engineering student, and exposing them to the opportunities that such an education may provide for their futures.

With enrollment this past academic year rising to almost 300, the program hopes to garner even greater participation in the coming year with the help of two grants — one from the National Science Foundation for expansion of the program, and another from Intel Foundation for the involvement of UA undergraduates in helping to teach engineering-based problem solving as part of the Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS).

Much like Squire points out that the course taught her to "not only make things, but to make things better", SFAz's STEM Initiatives are teaching Arizona how to make better our state's education system.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Tuesday 09/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Using the Force: UA Police Officer Completes NASA Project

Monday 09/29/2014

What's Up UA? - How New Social Movements Take Root

Friday 09/26/2014

What's Up UA? - PBS 'NewsHour' to Feature Inspirational UA Student

Wednesday 09/24/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Paves Way to Redefine STEM Education

Monday 09/22/2014

What's Up UA? - Wildcats Rally, Hail Mary TD Defeats Cal, 49-45

Thursday 09/18/2014

What's Up UA? - When Job Loss Equals Weight Gain

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Friday 03/07/2014

What's Up UA? - Seeing Cancer Differently

Wednesday 03/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Offers Accelerated Bachelor's to Master’s Program in Environmental Health Sciences

Tuesday 03/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Third-Ranked Men's Basketball Heads to Corvallis to Face OSU

Friday 02/28/2014

What's Up UA? - UA College of Optical Sciences to Celebrate 50th Anniversary With Laser Fun Day
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…