What's up UA - World’s Largest Earth Science Experiment to Begin at UA’s Biosphere 2 - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's up UA - World’s Largest Earth Science Experiment to Begin at UA’s Biosphere 2

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 3:32 pm

 

WHAT:

Commissioning of the Landscape Evolution Observatory, or LEO, the world’s only artificial watershed located at the University of Arizona Biosphere 2. Members of the media will have opportunities to interview key scientists and shoot video of the experiment before a formal ceremony.

WHEN:

Thursday, Nov. 29

12:30-1:30 p.m. – Media preview: Media will receive a tour of the facility and will have the opportunity to ask questions during an availability with LEO Science Committee members Peter Troch, Travis Huxman and Stephen DeLong and UA College of Science Dean Joaquin Ruiz.

2-2:45 p.m. – Formal LEO commissioning program begins with a welcome and remarks. During this time, LEO will experience its first artificial rain.

WHERE:

UA Biosphere 2

32540 S. Biosphere Road

Oracle, Ariz. 85623

RSVP:

Please RSVP for the media preview by Nov. 20 to Daniel Stolte, University Communications, 520-626-4402 or stolte@email.arizona.edu

BACKGROUND:

The world's largest interdisciplinary Earth science experiment has been constructed by the UA in the newly renovated and reinvigorated Biosphere 2. The recently completed Landscape Evolution Observatory is designed to reproduce the complex physical and biological interactions that occur in the zone from the bottom of the soil to the lower atmosphere - the critical zone where terrestrial life evolves and adapts to a changing Earth.

Predicting how the Earth’s land surface processes interact with and feed back on the atmospheric, biological and hydrological processes is of unprecedented societal relevance because of the synergistic impact of rapid, extensive changes in land use and global climate.

Housed inside the environmentally controlled greenhouse facility of the UA Biosphere 2, LEO aims to reveal better ways to understand and manage global water resources by providing researchers with real evidence of how the changing climate will affect movement of water and how the atmosphere interacts with the soil. LEO also will yield new insights into a fundamental characteristic of our planet, the co-evolution of life and rock.

Consisting of three sensor-studded, steel-supported watersheds 100 feet long and 40 feet wide, LEO will allow scientists to address fundamental “grand challenges” in Earth systems science such as:

• How will Earth's landscapes change as climate changes?

• How do water, energy and carbon move through landscapes?

• How do biological systems such as vegetation and microbial

communities modify landscapes?

• How will terrestrial water resources alter with climate change?

A network of more than 1,800 sensors and samplers arrayed through each slope will take measurements of the movement of water, energy, nutrients and carbon through engineered landscapes that approach the physical size and complexity of natural landscapes.

Eventually plants will be added to the soil, allowing an unprecedented look at how the development of life and biological systems feedback with dynamic physical processes.

By allowing scientists to run different climate scenarios, LEO makes it possible to understand how water moves through soil and how plants and microbes feedback on the atmosphere in response to, for example, a series of rains followed by a drought.

LEO’s synthetic landscape project is embracing an interdisciplinary approach to experimental design: hydrologists, geomorphologists, geochemists, atmospheric scientists, ecologists and genomicists from the UA and beyond all are collaborating. Rapid data collection and analysis from the LEO project will provide new means of improving computer models that are used to predict how Earth systems will behave in the face of changing climate.

Biosphere 2 offers unique opportunities for the exploration of complex questions in Earth Sciences because it provides space for large-scale experimentation with a high degree of environmental control and dense measurement capability such that realistic complexity can be observed and measured in more detail than in natural systems.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Friday 03/07/2014

What's Up UA? - Seeing Cancer Differently

Wednesday 03/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Offers Accelerated Bachelor's to Master’s Program in Environmental Health Sciences

Tuesday 03/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Third-Ranked Men's Basketball Heads to Corvallis to Face OSU

Friday 02/28/2014

What's Up UA? - UA College of Optical Sciences to Celebrate 50th Anniversary With Laser Fun Day

Thursday 02/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Obesity-Related Gut Bacteria Higher in People in Northern Climes

Monday 02/24/2014

Wildcats Sweep Sunday Doubleheader, Series From Alcorn State

Thursday 02/20/2014

What's Up UA? - First-Year UA Minority Student Retention Rate Highest Ever

Monday 02/17/2014

What's Up UA? - The Flu and You

Friday 02/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Miller to Add to Arizona’s USA Basketball Legacy

Wednesday 02/12/2014

What's Up UA? - $10M Gift to Optical Sciences is Largest Gift for Scholarships in UA History
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…