What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, March 18, 2014 8:58 am

Tucson Village Farm, a working urban farm built by and for the youth of the Tucson community, was recognized on Wednesday for its innovative approach to nutrition education and focus on urban youth from all ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds when National 4-H Council President and CEO Jennifer Sirangelo and Arizona 4-H Executives honored the farm with a visit to kick off National Nutrition Month.

Sirangelo recognized the farm as a model program for the nation in helping to educate students about sustainability while also serving as a unique community model for fostering economic development. Tucson Village Farm is a program of the University of Arizona's Cooperative Extension, part of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

“I am thrilled to come to Tucson to recognize the incredible work of all the people that are behind the success of the Tucson Village Farm,” Sirangelo said. “I’m here as part of our commitment to bring attention to the power of 4-H programs, such as the Tucson Village Farm, to change lives. There is an urgent need for all of us to invest in our youth, and the Tucson Village Farm is a phenomenal example of the potential of these investments.”

Sirangelo was joined by representatives from the UA College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and UA Cooperative Extension, including Jeff Silvertoothassociate dean and director of Cooperative Extension and economic development in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Kirk Astroth, Arizona 4-H youth development director in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and Bob Shogren and Erica Schwartzmann of the Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism.

At the event, kindergarten students went through a series of learning stations about working on the farm, planting, harvesting, whole grain discovery, worm exploration and seed saving.

Tucson high school students trained as “4-H Healthy Living Ambassadors” led the educational program with the kindergarten students and then talked with officials and executives from the governor’s office and 4-H about opportunities for replicating the program in other cities across the country.

A 10-year longitudinal study conducted by Tufts University and released in December shows that the 4-H experience is transformational. The study found that 4-H youth are two times more likely than their peers to make healthy choices and study science.

4-H’ers also are more civically active and understand the value of giving back, with the study finding that young people involved with 4-H are four times more likely to contribute to their communities.

Tucson Village Farm is designed to connect young people to a healthy food system by teaching them to grow and prepare fresh food and empower them to make healthy food choices.

The farm is a seed-to-table program designed to reconnect young people to a healthy food system, teach them how to grow and prepare fresh food and empower them to make healthy life choices. To date, the farm has served more than 22,300 children and adults from across Tucson and the state of Arizona.

Contacts

Sources:

Elizabeth Sparks

UA College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

520-626-5161

esparks@ag.arizona.edu

Jim Healy

Executive Vice President, Hager Sharp

202-706-7471

jhealy@hagersharp.com

Kate Caskin

National 4-H Council

240-454-4025

kcaskin@fourhcouncil.edu

UANews Contact:

Shelley Littin

319-541-1482

littin@email.arizona.edu

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Thursday 09/18/2014

What's Up UA? - When Job Loss Equals Weight Gain

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Friday 03/07/2014

What's Up UA? - Seeing Cancer Differently

Wednesday 03/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Offers Accelerated Bachelor's to Master’s Program in Environmental Health Sciences

Tuesday 03/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Third-Ranked Men's Basketball Heads to Corvallis to Face OSU

Friday 02/28/2014

What's Up UA? - UA College of Optical Sciences to Celebrate 50th Anniversary With Laser Fun Day

Thursday 02/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Obesity-Related Gut Bacteria Higher in People in Northern Climes

Monday 02/24/2014

Wildcats Sweep Sunday Doubleheader, Series From Alcorn State

Thursday 02/20/2014

What's Up UA? - First-Year UA Minority Student Retention Rate Highest Ever

Monday 02/17/2014

What's Up UA? - The Flu and You

Friday 02/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Miller to Add to Arizona’s USA Basketball Legacy
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…