What's Up UA? - Google Awards Grant for UA-Developed Online Chemistry Course - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's Up UA? - Google Awards Grant for UA-Developed Online Chemistry Course

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, March 8, 2013 9:56 am

Google, Inc. has granted a University of Arizona chemistry professor $50,000 to develop a free online course to teach chemistry to potentially hundreds of thousands of students.

Associate professor Katrina Miranda is creating a massive open online course, or MOOC, aiming to explain higher-level and abstract chemistry concepts that build on the science's fundamentals to students worldwide. Google is providing the technology and support for the creation, which is slated for an early September release.

An award-winning scientist in the department of chemistry and biochemistry and the BIO5 Institute, Miranda's research goal is to discover pharmacological therapies to treat diseases such as cancer, heart failure and stroke. She also is fascinated by the evolution of chemistry education. This interest spurred her partnership with Google to develop the online class, designed for chemistry students eager to excel.

"This course is building on fundamental concepts taught at the introductory level," Miranda said. "I'm taking what was learned in general chemistry and delving deeper into the theory and concepts of chemical reactions."

"Teaching online is a new frontier, and I want to take advantage of the opportunity," she added. "I'm thankful for Google's innovation, partnership and investment in the UA."

Higher education is still grappling with fundamental questions about design, implementation and assessment of MOOCs, including discovering effective ways to engage with students who need feedback or have questions. Yet online courses can transcend geographic boundaries to offer exceptional higher education experience worldwide. Opportunities to learn from researchers of Miranda's caliber are rare without an investment in new platforms.

The UA currently offers hundreds of online courses, including professional development, certificate and degree programs, with courses ranging from Web development to management information systems.

The Google partnership is UA chemistry's first step to extending its reach to a broader audience, said Scott Saavedra, professor and chair of the department of chemistry and biochemistry. If it is successful, the department could considerably expand its online course offerings for credit.

Google's own interest in developing MOOCs stems from a curiosity to explore the possibilities and opportunities within online learning. Karen Parker, Google's education program manager, said the UA is an exceptional partner in the field of science.

"The University of Arizona is highly regarded for its science education, and Dr. Miranda's expertise in the field of chemistry will certainly generate interest among students from all around the world," Parker said.

Last year, Google developed its own online course called "Power Searching with Google," which enrolled about 155,000 students around the world. Many of those students reached out to Google for the technology to create their own courses and in response released a free online platform called Course Builder.

"MOOCs have opened up a new landscape in the education space. Education experts and the providers of technology need to be working together to create the best learning experiences," Parker said.

"We want all sectors of the education space to explore and experiment with the notion of online learning."

The University of Arizona Foundation is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to advancing the UA. Managing an existing asset base of more than $600 million, the UA Foundation has helped generate more than $2 billion in private funding to support the University.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Friday 03/07/2014

What's Up UA? - Seeing Cancer Differently

Wednesday 03/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Offers Accelerated Bachelor's to Master’s Program in Environmental Health Sciences

Tuesday 03/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Third-Ranked Men's Basketball Heads to Corvallis to Face OSU

Friday 02/28/2014

What's Up UA? - UA College of Optical Sciences to Celebrate 50th Anniversary With Laser Fun Day

Thursday 02/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Obesity-Related Gut Bacteria Higher in People in Northern Climes

Monday 02/24/2014

Wildcats Sweep Sunday Doubleheader, Series From Alcorn State

Thursday 02/20/2014

What's Up UA? - First-Year UA Minority Student Retention Rate Highest Ever

Monday 02/17/2014

What's Up UA? - The Flu and You

Friday 02/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Miller to Add to Arizona’s USA Basketball Legacy

Wednesday 02/12/2014

What's Up UA? - $10M Gift to Optical Sciences is Largest Gift for Scholarships in UA History
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…