What's Up UA? - UA Geoscientist Receives $4.78M to Study Links Between Human Evolution, Past Climate - The Explorer: University Of Arizona

What's Up UA? - UA Geoscientist Receives $4.78M to Study Links Between Human Evolution, Past Climate

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, September 13, 2013 8:49 am

The Hominin Sites and Paleolakes Drilling Project, led by Andrew S. Cohen of the University of Arizona, has been awarded $4.78 million from the National Science Foundation to continue and expand its research on human evolution and climate.

The researchers anticipate their findings will transform our understanding of how environmental and climate change affected the evolution of our ancestors and have implications for humans today.

The project takes core samples of sediment from dry lake beds near important fossil and archaeological sites of ancient hominins in Africa's Rift Valley in Kenya and Ethiopia. Hominins are the group of organisms that includes humans and our fossil near-relatives and ancestors.

"With these detailed new paleoclimate records, we will be able to reliably test the important hypotheses that anthropologists have offered concerning possible links between the evolution and extinction of various human ancestors and close relatives, and past climate and environmental change," said Cohen, director of the project and a UA professor of geosciences.

"Our team is really excited about this international partnership of geologists, anthropologists and climate scientists working on the interface of two critical topics: climate change and human evolution."

The new funding will allow Cohen and his colleagues to extract cores from additional sites and to analyze those samples. The scientists will use data from the cores to reconstruct climate changes – especially temperature and precipitation – in eastern Africa over the last 4 million years, a critical period in human evolution.

By analyzing fossil pollen, charcoal and lake organisms in the cores, the team will also be able to reconstruct the ecosystems that early humans depended on.  

The new monies allow the team to expand the project by including additional researchers who can model the region's paleoclimate and environment. The modeling will be done by an international team that includes UA geosciences faculty members Jon Pelletier, Joellen Russell and Jianjun Yin. Additionally, UA geoscience faculty member Owen Davis and graduate students will be involved in the fossil pollen analysis.

The computer models will reveal the atmospheric processes underlying past environmental change in Africa and how the resources early humans relied on would have responded to those climate changes.

To obtain cores from the dry lake beds, the scientists use a drill rig that collects continuous sediment cores in 10-foot segments. The cores will penetrate up to 1,600 feet (about half a kilometer) below the earth's surface at some sites and will contain sediments up to 4 million years old.

In all, the researchers will collect more than 1.5 miles (2.4 kilometers) of cores of lake deposits. The team completed drilling at the first two sites in Kenya this summer and will collect samples at two sites in Ethiopia this fall and the final site in Kenya next summer.

The project caught the attention of Earth Images Foundation, a film production company based in Oakland, Calif. The company filmed the researchers this summer as they drilled in Kenya and collected hominin fossils near the drill sites and will continue filming the researchers in Ethiopia later this year.  The 3-D film documentary of the Hominin Sites and Paleolakes Drilling Project is expected to be available for distribution to museums in 2014.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Monday 09/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Don’t Underestimate Your Mind’s Eye

Thursday 09/11/2014

What's Up UA? - 'What I Wish I Had Known as a Freshman'

Tuesday 09/09/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Undergraduate Researchers Take to the Radio

Thursday 09/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Send Your Tweet – and Your Name – to an Asteroid

Tuesday 09/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Brown Foundations' $2.5 Million Kicks Off Catapult Corp

Thursday 08/28/2014

What's Up UA? - New Veterinary Degree Program Made Possible by $9M Gift is Critical for State

Monday 08/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Laser 'Lightning Rods' Channel Electricity Through Thin Air

Thursday 08/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Fall Enrollment Sets Record for Diversity, Number of Freshmen

Tuesday 08/19/2014

What's Up UA? - Remarkable Résumé: UA Student Journalist's Career Includes CNN, NYT Phoenix

Friday 08/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Through Innovative Partnership, 'Hot Shot' Team Tackles Yuma Produce Perils

Wednesday 08/13/2014

What's Up UA? - The UA Named a Top College by The Princeton Review

Monday 08/11/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Researchers Study Increasing Lifespan and Immune Function What's Up UA? - UA Undergrads Conducting Microgravity Research Aboard NASA's G-Force One

Monday 06/09/2014

What's up UA? - UA to Host U.S. and Mexico Officials Exploring Collaborations in Education, Innovation, Research

Thursday 06/05/2014

What's Up UA? - New Wilderness Medicine Class Hones Patient Care Skills in Rugged Conditions

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Track Cats Send Eight Athletes to TrackTown USA

Monday 06/02/2014

What's Up UA? - Bringing a Spacecraft Back From the Dead

Friday 05/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Heart Attack Patient Defies Odds with Tailored Surgical Treatment at UA Medical Center

Thursday 05/29/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Marketing Students Win National AT&T Competition

Tuesday 05/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Friday 05/23/2014

What's up UA? - Four UA Students Picked for Pat Tillman Foundation Scholarships

Wednesday 05/21/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists Discover Genetic Basis of Pest Resistance to Biotech Cotton

Monday 05/19/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Tunnels Get Carbon Fiber Makeover

Thursday 05/15/2014

What's Up UA? - Earning a UA Degree, in a Grandfather’s Memory

Tuesday 05/13/2014

What's Up UA? - UA's Phoenix Cancer Center is 'Topped Off,' Joins Award-Winning Medical School Building

Thursday 05/08/2014

What's Up UA? - University of Arizona to Offer Nation’s First Bachelor of Arts in Law

Monday 05/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Combating Health Disparities to Build Healthier Communities

Wednesday 04/30/2014

What's Up UA? - Scientists at the UA Make Critical End-Stage Liver Disease Discovery

Friday 04/25/2014

What's Up UA? - A Century-Long Track Record of Serving Arizona and Benefiting the State's Economy

Wednesday 04/23/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Opens Nation’s First Resource Center for Student Vets Studying Health Care UA Wildcat Instant Decision Days at PCC campuses April 29-May 2

Monday 04/21/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Scientists to Begin Construction on NASA Spacecraft that will Visit Asteroid in 2018

Thursday 04/10/2014

What's Up UA? - Spring Fling Celebrates 40th Anniversary With Return to UA Mall

Monday 04/07/2014

Mauga’s Walkoff Sweeps Stanford

Thursday 04/03/2014

What's Up UA? - 4-H Programs Bring Enrichment and Learning to Thousands in Arizona

Monday 03/31/2014

What's Up UA? - The Viruses You Don't Know About (Yet)

Tuesday 03/25/2014

What's Up UA? - Twice Torn Apart: A UA Alumna's Road to the Paralympic Games

Tuesday 03/18/2014

What's Up UA? - Tucson Village Farm Honored as Model Program for the Nation

Friday 03/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Several UA Graduate Programs Reach New Heights

Tuesday 03/11/2014

What's Up UA? - Olympics Interns Share Sochi Experiences

Friday 03/07/2014

What's Up UA? - Seeing Cancer Differently

Wednesday 03/05/2014

What's Up UA? - UA Offers Accelerated Bachelor's to Master’s Program in Environmental Health Sciences

Tuesday 03/04/2014

What's Up UA? - Third-Ranked Men's Basketball Heads to Corvallis to Face OSU

Friday 02/28/2014

What's Up UA? - UA College of Optical Sciences to Celebrate 50th Anniversary With Laser Fun Day

Thursday 02/27/2014

What's Up UA? - Obesity-Related Gut Bacteria Higher in People in Northern Climes

Monday 02/24/2014

Wildcats Sweep Sunday Doubleheader, Series From Alcorn State

Thursday 02/20/2014

What's Up UA? - First-Year UA Minority Student Retention Rate Highest Ever

Monday 02/17/2014

What's Up UA? - The Flu and You

Friday 02/14/2014

What's Up UA? - Miller to Add to Arizona’s USA Basketball Legacy

Wednesday 02/12/2014

What's Up UA? - $10M Gift to Optical Sciences is Largest Gift for Scholarships in UA History
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…