Such the Spot - Crying foul on doctors who charge late fees - Tucson Local Media: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - Crying foul on doctors who charge late fees

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, February 14, 2013 3:22 pm | Updated: 10:34 am, Fri Feb 15, 2013.

I have a pet peeve. I suppose it would be more accurate to admit to having a slew of pet peeves, but today I’m focusing on just the one. That is, the policy so many physicians have adopted that—with some variation—states that patients who are late for the appointment will be charged a missed or late appointment fee. The policy itself seems reasonable enough; it’s the hypocrisy of it that gets under my skin.

Allow me to explain.

As the mother of four children—one of whom has special needs—I would venture to guess that I’ve spent slightly above the average amount of time at the doctor’s office. I pride myself on being timely and, in spite of my family’s hectic schedule, I do manage to show up five or more minutes early for nearly all of my appointments. Which, of course, leaves me more than a little frustrated when I arrive on time only to be kept waiting in the lobby—and subsequently in the exam room—for an exorbitant amount of time. It is in those instances when I can’t help but notice the hypocrisy in those office policy late fees.

Last week, I took two of my daughters to a local oral surgeon (who shall remain nameless) for a consult. On the day of our appointment, I loaded up my girls and drove the forty-five minutes from my home in Vail to the midtown location of this particular office. You can imagine my dismay, then, when I arrived and was told that they could not see my daughter based on her insurance coverage. It is important to note that as I booked the appointment two weeks prior, I provided all of our insurance information to the receptionist. You read that correctly: the office was indeed aware of our insurance coverage when they scheduled the appointment. Yet during the two week lapse between my scheduling the appointment and my arrival on site, this surgeon’s office did not call me to inform me of the oversight. Rather, they waited until I wasted my time and gasoline for a trip to an appointment they refused to keep. If ever there were an occasion to turn the tables on those missed appointment fees, I should say that occasion most assuredly qualifies.

Here is what I want physicians to know about my time: it is no more or less valuable than that of a doctor. I am mindful of scheduling appointments, so as not to overbook my days. It is reasonable to assume that doctors could extend that same courtesy to their patients by honoring appointment times. And since doctors have no qualms charging their patients for late arrivals, it seems only right that when the doctor is the one running way behind, some degree of compensation is appropriate. I’m willing to bet that if the tables were turned on those late and/or missed appointment fees, there would be far fewer of us twiddling our thumbs in the waiting rooms of America.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 4:35 pm on Thu, Feb 14, 2013.

    John Flanagan Posts: 347

    In terms of the significance of this issue, on a scale of 1-10, it is clearly a rating of 2. The main concern with this incident is the failure of the doctor's office staff to review the insurance and call the patient prior to the visit.

     

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Such the Spot - A generation which seeks to be offended

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Question and Answer with Darcie A less is more kind of holiday

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Cooler weather brings us to outside activity A hefty helping of humble pie

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Such The Spot: My daughter got inked

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Such the Spot - My daughter got inked

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll