Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:14 am

This afternoon I’m getting on a plane with my daughter, Torri.  We’re flying to Florida, the Sunshine State, so you’d think the trip would be a happy one.  It is, in many ways.  But the fact that Torri’s ticket is one-way, and mine is round-trip, well, that complicates things.

I raised her to love many things.  I raised her to love strawberry pie and warm weather and God (though not—I assure you—in that order).  I raised her to love books and honey in her tea and anything related to Disney.  It’s that last one that is coming back to haunt me now.

She was two the very first time I took her to Disneyland.  By the end of the day she was sweaty and sugared up—a stuffed Piglet trailing from her tired, dragging hand.   A love for the magic took root during that trip and so many more that would follow.  And then five years later, we took her to Disney parks on the opposite coast.  She spent her seventh birthday at Magic Kingdom—still young enough then to believe that the princess dress and tiara she wore had convinced Cinderella to invite us inside her castle for breakfast and a visit.  All those spins on the carousel—all those walks down Main Street—they were the most magical times of her life.  And mine.

She was just starting high school when I was selected to be a part of the inaugural Walt Disney World Moms Panel.  During my on-site training, I had the chance to meet several of Disney’s executives.  I remember sitting at dinner and talking with one of them about how she came to be a magic maker.  Quite possibly, there was pixie dust in my eyes as I listened and learned.  Alas, it was too late for me, but I knew of a certain young girl at home—a young girl whose heart already had a magical slight.  I went home from that trip and planted the teensiest seed in that young girl’s heart.  It was no accident; I did it because I believed that if her dreams mattered, they’d steer her right during those tumultuous teen years.

And they {mostly} did.

Here’s what I know about dreams: you need only take a single step to start chasing ‘em.  Today, my baby girl will get on a plane and go about the business of dream chasing.  If I’m being completely honest with you, I have to admit that there is a part of me that wishes she’d stay.  But more than that, I’m watching through eyes open wide in wonder—so full of admiration for a girl brave enough to chase down the wishes her heart made.  And is making still.     

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one

Tuesday 06/25/2013

Such the Spot - The trip we'll laugh about later

Friday 06/14/2013

Such the Spot - Please don't feed the children
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…