Such the Spot - What photos you should always keep on the iPhone - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - What photos you should always keep on the iPhone

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, August 22, 2012 3:44 pm | Updated: 3:46 pm, Wed Aug 22, 2012.

I was going through my iPhone this week, trying to clean up my photo album. There were hundreds of shots overdue for deletion; my teenagers have a bad habit of snapping tons of silly photos for me to find later. Once I sifted through all of those, though, I narrowed my stream down to frame-worthy shots of my kids and a select few photos that come in super handy when I’m out and about. I’m using those photos as inspiration today, to share ten photos that every mom should keep on her cell phone for quick reference.

1. Weekly grocery list – I have a bad habit of losing mine while I’m running from store to store. Keeping an image of it on my cell phone has saved me more than once.

2. Gift ideas – When we’re cruising the aisles of clothing or department stores, my kids will point out or show interest in a particular item. Sometimes, I sneak a photo and refer back to it months later when I’m shopping for a birthday or holiday gift.

3. Outfit ideas – Whenever I’m out shopping and I see a great outfit on a store mannequin, I’ll snap a shot of it in hopes that I can a) try it on when time allows or b) imitate the look with less expensive items from a different retailer.

4. Dog photos – Truly, I’m not a huge dog person. That said, I do have photos of my dog on my iPhone. I reference them when I take him in for grooming. The groomer is able to take a quick glance at the photo and note which blades to use in trimming him up. It saves me from returning to a dog that’s easily mistaken for a naked mole rat.

5. Books – It seems that I’m always able to find books suited to my tastes when I peruse Target’s book aisle. The trouble, of course, is that I’m too cheap to buy them; I prefer to get my books on loan from the library. I refer to those photos and submit a hold request from the library’s website.

6. Recipes – I tend to find interesting recipes for meals or cocktails when I’m flipping through magazines in the doctor’s office or on an airplane. Snapping a quick shot of the ingredient list and preparation method allows me to try those recipes at home, without ripping the page from the magazine.

7. Household items – Keeping photos of air filter sizes, light bulbs, and printer cartridges allows you to make the purchase while you’re out running errands, even if you forget to bring the item with you for comparison.

8. Kids’ sizes – I don’t know about you, but with four kids to keep track of, I tend to forget shoe sizes. At least, I used to, until I started keeping photos of that information in my phone. Now, I can reference it when I’m out and I see a cute pair of shoes on clearance.

9. Items I’m trying to price compare – I recently was in the market for a new Digital SLR camera, but kept getting confused on what was available where. I took pictures of the tags and was able to easily retrieve information on features and pricing and compare it between stores.

10. Kid pics– Whenever we travel to crowded areas, I snap a quick shot of my young children. If, God forbid, they were to be separated from me, I could quickly reference the photo to give an accurate description of what they were wearing.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one

Tuesday 06/25/2013

Such the Spot - The trip we'll laugh about later

Friday 06/14/2013

Such the Spot - Please don't feed the children
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…