Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover - Tucson Local Media: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, July 8, 2014 12:32 pm

We started reading to my son when he was six weeks old. It sounds a little strange, I know, but I’d read about the benefits of reading to a baby and so I insisted that we do it. We started with simple board books that contained mostly colorful pictures of oversized objects—shoes, balls, animals—and slowly progressed to books with simple story lines. Our reading time quickly became a treasured part of my son’s daily schedule. After we successfully got his sisters off to school each morning, the two of us would cozy into a spot on the rocking chair in his room. He’d choose a pile of books from our home library and stack them as neatly as his chubby little toddler hands would allow, by the chair. Eventually his attention span grew and we were able to complete lengthy series. I think that he was under five years old when we completed all seven books in The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.

We certainly didn’t stop there.

Some of the books we read together wouldn’t surprise you. We read books that boys love—tales of pirates and cowboys, stories about Indian figurines that magically sprung to life upon being placed in a special cupboard. He always favored fantasy and adventure. Being a lover of books myself, I didn’t want to stop with those expected choices. I wanted him to get lost in stories that would grow his horizons. To that end, we started a series most well-known for appealing to young girls: The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Having never read that particular series as a child, I didn’t know quite what to expect. I feared he might not appreciate or enjoy the more feminine tones of the stories. He surprised me. The books did, too. Hardly feminine, The Little House books are accounts of brave pioneers. They overflow with adventurous characters, rich relationships and heartbreaking loss. Once we’d finished all of the books about Laura Ingalls Wilder, we moved on to the next series that chronicle the life of Laura’s daughter, Rose.

I credit our ritual of story time for instilling in my son a deep love of literature. He’s going into the third grade this year and already he’s an accomplished reader; he just wrapped up the final book of the Oz series on his own. I’m thrilled about that part, of course, but that in itself isn’t what I find most encouraging about his love of books. Rather, I love the fact that he can wander into a bookstore and find a book in just about any genre and waste away hours reading.

The stories he’s heard read aloud and those he’s read on his own have given him an impressive vocabulary, a deeper understanding of the world around him and—I believe—empathy for people in all ages and stages of life. If you happen to be the mother or father, sister or brother, grandmother or grandfather of a little one (even a newborn!) don’t underestimate the power of a book. And—please— don’t judge the appropriateness of that book by the gender of the character on the cover; the stories might surprise you.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 7:19 pm on Tue, Jul 8, 2014.

    John Flanagan Posts: 347

    I commend you on your intelligent approach to raising your son to be a reader, and instilling in him a respect for literature. Many parents simply do not encourage their young children to read, and so they just keep buying toys with lots of bells and whistles, turn on those annoying "educational" cartoon shows, and most damaging of all......the parents speak "Baby talk" until the poor child is well into 2nd grade. Most American kids today are coddled, and most parents sheepishly follow the pop psychologists and "experts" instead of applying some discipline and common sense.
    Did you know that the Hopi Indians of Arizona in the 1800's and 1900's, unlike most white parents, never used childish baby talk with their young, and observers of the time noted that the Hopi children matured and developed more quickly, learned better, and were less anxious. It is amazing how much better children develop when we actually interact with them as mature adults, teach them the skills they need in society, introduce them to literature and reading, and avoid speaking "down" to them. Today's children are even more of a challenge because of computers and social media, but you and your husband have given your son an excellent start, and I am sure your other kids have benefited from your approach.

     

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Such the Spot - A generation which seeks to be offended

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Question and Answer with Darcie A less is more kind of holiday

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Cooler weather brings us to outside activity A hefty helping of humble pie

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Such The Spot: My daughter got inked

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Such the Spot - My daughter got inked

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…