Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, July 2, 2014 11:06 am | Updated: 11:09 am, Wed Jul 2, 2014.

At the risk of sounding like my grandfather, I have to say that I have genuine concerns about the next generation. I’m worried about the impact of constant connectivity on impressionable young minds.

Don’t get me wrong; I see the value in modern technology. Whereas I had to spend hours in a library with access to limited information every time I had a report due at school, my children have instant access to page after page of study material via the internet. Technology has played a part in making the world seem like a smaller, more accessible place and I can’t help but appreciate that aspect of its influence. We all know, though, that there can be too much of a good thing.

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to deliver my college-age daughter to Walt Disney World for an internship program. While we were there, we dined in a restaurant at a table next to a woman and a boy who seemed to be somewhere between eight and 10 years old. My guess is that it was a mother dining with her son. Here’s the troubling part: throughout the course of the hour-long meal, the boy’s eyes and attention were focused on a tablet screen the whole time. With the exception of lunch orders and drink refill requests being voiced to the server, I don’t recall so much as three sentences being exchanged at that table. I found it to be sad, and somewhat disturbing.

On “The Today Show” this morning, I heard just a short blurb about how voicemail messages are becoming obsolete. They were reporting that with the popularity of texting, people are less and less likely to leave or listen to voicemail messages. It’s not a surprising trend, really; I prefer texts over voicemail, too. But I think most of us would agree that there are certain things that should not be said over text—or voicemail for that matter. I’m concerned that today’s teens and tweens don’t appreciate those boundaries. Within the past three months, my two teen daughters have texted me some things I feel warrant a phone call, at the very least. My oldest daughter texted me when she totaled her car. And my 16-year-old told me via text that one of her friends had committed suicide.

The problem—I believe— is a grand one, but like most widespread problems, I think the solution starts at home. We can’t keep our children from technology, but we can certainly do our best to combat the negative aspects of it. We can do so by responding appropriately to inappropriate behaviors. When my daughter texted me about her car, for instance, I picked up the phone. My husband and I don’t bring our phones (or any other devices) to the table. I engage my kids in conversation when we’re in the car together, rather than allow them to zone out on mobile Twitter. I won’t say that I’m immune to all of this; I definitely have a weakness for my iPhone. But when I consider how important an example I’m setting, it makes it a bit easier to unplug.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 12:19 pm on Wed, Jul 2, 2014.

    John Flanagan Posts: 333

    It is too late. The train is already going down the track. Even seniors, just like their grandchildren, sit in doctor's waiting rooms staring down at the IPods on their laps, vacantly unaware of the world around them. Anyway.....let me get back to my IPad.

     

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Such The Spot: My daughter got inked

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Such the Spot - My daughter got inked

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…
Loading…