Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, January 27, 2014 3:07 pm

I was sitting at my laptop, writing a blog post when my 19-year-old daughter spoke up from the next room. “Justin Bieber got arrested,” she said.

“Good,” I answered, without so much as a pause. And then I said it, the sentence that I would almost instantly regret: “That kid is worthless.”

All things considered, Justin Bieber is not worthless. Granted, within the span of a month, he has: caused several thousand dollars’ worth of damage to his neighbor’s property, been in possession of narcotics, and now put countless innocent lives at risk while drag-racing under the influence in Miami. His actions as of late have certainly demonstrated a lack of virtue. He has been disrespectful, immature, and downright bratty. Even without knowing him personally, I think one can safely assume that he lacks humility, gratitude and even a shred of respect for authority. Worthless though? I’m afraid not.

As I have matured as a mom, I’ve pinpointed several truths that I want my children to be so deeply rooted in that they would never think to question. One of those truths is that every single human being on this Earth has value—from the leader of the free world, all the way down to the homeless beggar under the bridge. I’ve also tried to nurture the belief that every sin is forgivable. And then—by saying what I said about Justin Bieber—I proved otherwise in the span of four little words.

It was definitely one of those mom moments that I wish I could do over. Given that luxury, I would have acknowledged Justin Bieber’s grievous mistakes. I would have pointed out that his actions have hurt and/or put a whole sphere of people at risk. I still would have applauded the fact that the boy is in jail and I probably would have made a strong case for deportation. But I would have stopped short of using a word that I truly don’t believe applies to any human being, no matter the circumstance: worthless.

I used to think that the hardest part of motherhood was the physical exhaustion, and it’s true; all of those sleepless nights spent rocking crying babies are definitely trying. Now that I’m parenting young people, I have an entirely different perspective on what the single most difficult aspect of motherhood is. That is, living a life so scrutinized by those impressionable young eyes.

Most of the time, I say what I mean and mean what I say. Every once in a while, though, I slip. My quick tongue gets ahead of my not-so-quick brain. When that happens, the only meaningful way I’ve found to recover is to own up to being wrong. That, in part, is the inspiration behind the words you’re reading right now. This is me admitting I was wrong. I think it’s a lesson a certain young Canadian would benefit from, don’t you agree?

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 8:19 pm on Mon, Jan 27, 2014.

    John Flanagan Posts: 325

    Ask Huckabee about his wrong choice of words during a recent speech.......like "libido!" I am sure he could have expressed himself better, but it was too late. We all do it....Mike Huckabee is not alone. As for Justin Bieber....actions have consequences..and he is not just a youthful miscreant....he is a bit of a punk. He is behaving in a way that most teens should see it as bad manners.

     

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one

Tuesday 06/25/2013

Such the Spot - The trip we'll laugh about later

Friday 06/14/2013

Such the Spot - Please don't feed the children
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…