Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, November 21, 2013 8:54 am

Thanksgiving is less than two weeks away. Oh sure, some of you have it all under control. Your turkeys are ordered and your centerpieces are made and you’ve already begun testing pumpkin pie recipes to find just the right one. Bravo for you. What? Do I sound bitter? Maybe I am. My hostility has nothing to do with your perfectly-organized holiday. I wish you well, in fact. My hostility is the result of certain impending doom. Okay, maybe that was a little harsh. It’s just that I am expecting house guests this year and I’ve been so distracted by the logistics of pulling off a peaceful holiday that I can’t seem to even think about what might be on the menu.

There are seven of them. We will attempt to accommodate seven people and their assorted belongs in the nooks and crannies of our already full house. I am not overly concerned about the physical accommodations; we can surely scavenge up enough pillows and blankets to keep everyone happy. My bigger concern is that it has been over a decade since we were all staying under one roof. Oh, didn’t I mention? These house guests are my family: my mom, my dad, my two brothers, one sister-in-law and a set of grandparents. It might sound innocent enough, but I can assure you that this is sure to be a motley crew.

For starters, this Thanksgiving will mark the first time since my mom and dad divorced a few years ago that they will be staying under the same roof. Add to that awkwardness the fact that my medicinal marijuana-dealing brother and his young bride are driving in from California. My brother and I don’t exactly see eye-to-eye on his career of choice. You can imagine then that our banter always makes for stimulating dinner conversation. My other brother will be here, too, which should be interesting considering the fact that he and my grandmother haven’t been on speaking terms for nearly a year.

Tell me this doesn’t sound like a reality show in the making.

I saw this infographic the other day and I just had to share. Apparently, Embassy Suites commissioned a study on holiday house guests. The results came as no surprise to me. For instance, they found that 64% of respondents would rather go on vacation than stay with family members. Um, duh? And then, 50% said house guests would wear out their welcome within five days. Now might be a good time to note that I was not polled; five days with my house guests would most certainly result in yellow crime tape and a lengthy prison sentence. Ahem, would someone please pass the green bean casserole?

The infographic goes on to point out that more than 71% of Americans have witnessed bad house guest behavior. In this case, skipping out on group activities is considered bad house guest behavior. Without taking anything away from those Cleaver-esque families, I have to beg pardon here and question what they were thinking. I mean, why look a gift horse in the mouth? Count your blessings, people. Isn’t that what this holiday is all about?

In closing, I’d just like to say that if you happen to be one of the seven people who will soon be arriving on my doorstep, this article was meant purely in jest. Ha ha. Funny, right? (For anybody else who might be reading: send help!).

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 12:27 pm on Thu, Nov 21, 2013.

    John Flanagan Posts: 326

    If you could be a fly on the wall and visit your neighbors any time of day, you would realize that many families have dysfunctional relationships. Broken marriages, difficult relatives, distrust, disappointing dreams of once good relationships turned sour: life at best is often complicated. But as you sit down for a Thanksgiving Dinner, at least in your case many of your relatives at least still speak to one another. In many situations, parents and children, brothers and sisters, relatives, and former good friends sadly no longer communicate. Even the passing of years often cannot heal, and people go to their graves without sharing a kind word to those whom they probably love, if only pride and some fractious issue hadn't destroyed something good in the past.
    When you share your Thnksgiving meal, just keep things light, avoid arguments, thank God for His blessings. Keep a positive focus.

     

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one

Tuesday 06/25/2013

Such the Spot - The trip we'll laugh about later

Friday 06/14/2013

Such the Spot - Please don't feed the children
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…