Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs - Tucson Local Media: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, April 22, 2014 1:39 pm | Updated: 1:43 pm, Tue Apr 22, 2014.

There was a lawsuit making the national headlines through much of March. In involved a teenager from New Jersey who was suing her parents for—among other things—access to a college fund. The litigious young lady was one Rachel Canning, 18. As it turns out, young Miss Canning eventually dropped the case voluntarily, and has since returned home. I suppose that is a tidy end to the court case, but I can’t help but pick my jaw up off the floor when I read related news stories.

According to her parents, eighteen-year-old Rachel Canning had disciplinary problems at school, and at home she often failed to comply with house rules including completing chores and abiding by curfews. Canning asserted that by withholding financial support, her parents emotionally abused and abandoned her. Here are the key points I’ve gathered:

1. Rachel Canning is eighteen-years-old (legally an adult).

2. Rachel Canning has disciplinary troubles.

3. Rachel Canning voluntarily moved out of her parents’ home.

4. Rachel Canning thinks her parents should be forced to provide financial support above and beyond what they are legally required to provide despite the fact that she chose to move out of the house rather than abide by the rules set forth therin.

Um, am I missing something here?

I just so happen to be the mother of teenage girls, though only one of them is over the age of eighteen. I can tell you with certainty that I have indeed struggled with my teenagers over issues ranging from curfew to driving privileges. Did you catch the key word in that last sentence? Privileges. Not rights. When these struggles persist, I respond by snatching away aforementioned privileges faster than my teens can say ‘entitlement.’ With those confessions right before you in black and white, you tell me whether I deserve to be sued.

Here’s the thing: I think it’s safe to say that most parents who go to the trouble and sacrifice of establishing college funds for their children tend to be responsible folks who desire prosperous and successful lives for their offspring. If and when those children choose to habitually break rules and spit in the face of authority, I can’t help but believe that the parents are not only legally authorized to withhold college funds, but they are doing society a huge injustice by doing anything short of that.

In addition to the requirement that they condone themselves in generally appropriate ways, my husband and I have a nonnegotiable condition that our children must meet in order to receive the college funds we’ve scrimped and saved for out of the goodness of our hearts. Namely, we require that after graduating high school, our kids take part in a mission trip with a Christian organization. We’re insisting that our kids go to a developing country and roll up their sleeves to help build walls and plant gardens and just generally love up on less fortunate people. Funding for the trip will be covered, but participation is not optional—that is, if they want the college money. I’m sure that by Canning’s standards, such a requirement is downright criminal.

I can’t help but think, though, that Canning herself might benefit from a trip to one of Africa or South America’s developing countries. It seems she could use a dose of reality.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 10:50 am on Sat, Apr 26, 2014.

    John Flanagan Posts: 341

    I agree with the condition of having your college bound kids participate in a Christian missionary trip, however, I might open it up to other options like volunteering locally for a specified time at a soup kitchen, a Gospel Rescue Mission, a home for unwed mothers, even a secular food pantry, a hospice, a nursing home, or a literacy volunteer organization. Often we think that a mission field must be in Africa or another foreign place, and no doubt some people are called to go to these areas, but I think the overlooked mission field may sometimes be just down the road, and the need exists for a volunteer to simply offer a warm meal, a smile, an encouraging word. In doing so, one is doing what Jesus preached, and for the young especially, it is a lesson in unselfishness and love.

     

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Cooler weather brings us to outside activity A hefty helping of humble pie

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Such The Spot: My daughter got inked

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Such the Spot - My daughter got inked

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…