Such the Spot - Literally Speaking - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, June 5, 2014 8:43 am

Have you seen the TV show, American Dream Builders? It’s an NBC program in which several designers are assigned to a team and they compete against one another to design a house that wins the votes of a neighborhood council. I’m not sure what the big prize at the end is and I didn’t bother to look it up because the prize is not my point. I only mention the show because I want to tell you about something the host, Nate Berkus, said on an episode I watched the other night. Two things, actually. The first phrase came to pass when he walked into a newly-designed bedroom painted a drab gray color. He looked around and then said on camera to his colleagues, “This room literally bores me to tears.” Only he was wrong because, as I mentioned, he was being filmed and I can assuredly say that not a single tear rolled down his face as he spoke those words. By definition, the word ‘literally’ means to convey an actual, exact occurrence or sentiment.

Or does it?

Apparently not anymore. Did you know that several online sources have updated the word ‘literally’ to also now be used to convey strong emotion or emphasis while not literally being true? Did you catch that? Basically they’re saying that the opposite definition of ‘literally’ now can be encompassed in the updated definition of the word. Why? Because a large portion of the population has so frequently misused the word that they decided it would just be easier to change the definition.

As a lover of the English language, I can’t say that the updated definition thrills me. I’m a person who strongly believes that words matter. Words have the power to heal broken hearts, inspire armies, boost morale and crumble entire governments. It serves us well to carefully choose the right—most accurate—words for any given situation.

Later in that same episode, Mr. Berkus had to send one of his three favorite contestants home from the competition. Before he made the decision, he said, “This is literally the hardest thing I’ve ever done.” Personally, I can think of several things that likely were harder. And so I struggle to believe that the torch snuffing he did during that episode was literally the hardest thing he’s ever done. Unless, of course, we’re accepting the updated (albeit so very inaccurate) definition of the word.

I hope we can all agree that the English language is worth preserving. Watching it deteriorate one definition at a time breaks my heart. Figuratively speaking, of course.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 11:38 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    John Flanagan Posts: 326

    Unfortunately, or fortunately, however you view it....language, words, grammar, expressions, meanings, change with each generation, including those clever advertising slogans we hear regularly, and the double meaning ambiguities uttered by deceptive and manipulative politicians and bureaucrats. The Internet has it's own language, as do the young people today. I had to ask my son what "LOL" meant when it was posted on something I said on Facebook. It means "laugh out loud"....like how could I know that? When I was young we said things like, "That's coooool, man!" I share your concerns about plain meanings and literal meanings of spoken words, but like you, I am helpless to do anything about it. Anyway.....keep on fighting til you utter your final hyperboles.

     

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she's gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman's terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She's @medarcie on Twitter.

Friday 09/12/2014

Such the Spot - A case of the HOA blues

Monday 08/25/2014

Guest Column - Suing the President or impeachment for life? Such the Spot - Tips for packing kid's lunches

Friday 08/15/2014

Such the Spot - Using our nice words

Thursday 08/07/2014

Vacation season is over, time for school

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Such the Spot - Why you shouldn't judge a book by its cover

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Such the Spot - The impact of constant connectivity

Friday 06/13/2014

Such the Spot - It really is a small, small world

Thursday 06/05/2014

Such the Spot - Literally Speaking

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Such the Spot - Moving my daughter across country

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Such the Spot - Inclusive fun benefits all Such the Spot - Did the Easter bunny make it to your house this year? If so, you have me to thank. Let me explain: Such the Spot - Loose lips sink ships

Tuesday 04/22/2014

Such the Spot - Three mom code rules I wish every mother could agree on Such the Spot - What the teen who sued her parents really needs

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one

Tuesday 06/25/2013

Such the Spot - The trip we'll laugh about later

Friday 06/14/2013

Such the Spot - Please don't feed the children
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…