Will 2014 be the year of streaming media? - Tucson Local Media: Prime Time Review

Will 2014 be the year of streaming media?

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, January 15, 2014 4:00 am

Just as the big cable networks have long known, the greatest difficulty in keeping viewers is keeping them interested. This is a struggle we as the viewing public have watched for years as countless shows, pilots, and new ideas are presented for a month or so and then sent down the drain. Every couple of months, you can read an article about the shows being cancelled in the upcoming year. To combat this constant turn-over of programming, it is necessary to find new, original programs that are able to both retain current viewers as well as draw more in. 

This need for new, creative projects has made its way to the online media arena in the past few years. With the paramount growth of online streaming services such as Netflix and Hulu, people’s ability to watch through the entirety of their favorite programming a thing of ease. As the long list in your queue begins to lessen, you seek out new programs. The struggle then becomes to find things to keep you going, to keep hitting that “Next Episode” button over and over until the time has shifted steadily into the a.m. Those with a hankering for online streaming media will find 2014 to be quite an exciting year indeed. 

Both of the major online media streaming services, Netflix and Hulu, have released their respective lineups for the year as well as the announcement of some expanded services.

Hulu and its premium service Hulu plus are ringing in the year with the announcement of over 5 million subscribing users to the Hulu plus service, a great accomplishment. Riding on the coat tails of a $5 million in revenue year for the company, Hulu has announced that they have plans to double their current original programming. With around 20 original shows currently in development, this is quite an impressive boast from a company that has historically faced some financial issues as well as the loss of some key personnel. Hulu may not have the ridiculous subscription numbers of Netflix, but the service does boast streaming support for seven of the top ten searched for shows on the internet. With multiple BBC collaborations as well as plans to expand their own original content, the little brother Hulu may soon find its head amongst the top dog. 

The 2014 LG CES Press Conference also brought some important news from Netflix concerning their plans for the new year. One of the most exciting announcements is that the hit show House of Cards will be coming back for its second season exclusively on Netflix. More importantly, Netflix will be offering its hit show in the Ultra-HD settings of 4K video. Those with Ultra-HD capable TVs will not have long to wait to utilize the high quality settings on some masterful programming. Netflix also released a full trailer for the second season of the show, as if fans weren’t already hyped up enough. 

While not nearly as impressive an operation as Hulu or Netflix, Amazon Prime is another streaming service looking to gain some steam in the coming year. The service, utilizing Amazon Instant Video, allows Amazon users access to their own library of licensed television as well as some original programming. While the catalogue for Amazon Prime is miniscule when compared to Hulu and Netflix, they were able to snag some important licenses last year. Amazon Prime is the exclusive streaming location for CBS’ hit drama “Under the Dome,” and also picked up the rights to stream “The L Word.”

While the horizons seem to brighten for the world of online streaming, the old stalwart ways of DVD rental are continuing to waste away. With Blockbuster announcing the closure of their final stores, Redbox stands alone as the easy DVD rental option around town. Soon enough we may see Redbox follow down the same path as its predecessor, Blockbuster.  

Rejoice moviegoers and TV addicts, for the world only seems to only be getting better for you. The new year is being rung in with some exciting announcements that will be sure to bring many a new subscriber to the computer or television for streaming entertainment, and keep those of us already trapped well within the grips of our self imposed lethargy. 

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Wednesday 12/24/2014

Christmas day film releases bring options for everyone

Wednesday 12/17/2014

The Loft Insider: “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Gamer's Scoop - Blizzard donates World of Warcraft pet sales to Ebola Relief

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Tucson Symphony Orchestra to perform Disney classic Burt Reynolds hoping for deliverance from financial woes

Wednesday 11/12/2014

‘Interstellar’ solidifies director’s legacy

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Suge Knight and Katt Williams arrested for robbery in Beverly Hills

Wednesday 10/29/2014

Netflix offers hidden Halloween treats

Wednesday 10/22/2014

Prime Time Review: Disney may be planning three Obi-Wan Star Wars movies

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Tucson crawling with Halloween events

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Prime Time Review: University of Arizona and Fox Theatre team up for new downtown lecture series

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Prime Time Review: NCIS: New Orleans coming to your TV soon

Wednesday 08/27/2014

Prime Time Review: Two new ‘Jungle Book’ movies hitting theaters soon

Wednesday 08/20/2014

Prime Time Review: Waves of “Blackfish” documentary start to hit SeaWorld

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Will Arnett announces more ‘Arrested Development’

Wednesday 08/06/2014

Prime Time Review: Indie rock princess poised to hit mainstream

Wednesday 07/30/2014

Prime Time Review: Two upcoming shows hip-hop heads should not miss

Wednesday 07/23/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Goosebumps’ film coming next summer

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Primetime Review: Marvel continues to build with “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Prime Time Review: North Korea threatens war over movie

Wednesday 06/25/2014

Prime Time Review: Tucsonan selected for CBS Reality TV

Wednesday 06/18/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix

Wednesday 06/04/2014

Prime Time Review: X-Men: Days of Future Past - where does it stand?

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Prime Time Review: Microsoft announces new version of Xbox without Kinect

Thursday 05/22/2014

Prime Time Review - Four summer films Likely to disappoint viewers

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Prime Time Review - Star Wars: Episode VII casting draws praise from Hamill, mixed reactions from fans

Wednesday 04/23/2014

Prime Time Review: AC/DC refutes retirement rumors despite absences

Wednesday 04/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Which “Colbert” will appear on “The Late Show”?

Wednesday 04/09/2014

David Letterman announces retirement

Wednesday 03/19/2014

Prime Time Review - Guided by Voices enhances prolific reputation

Wednesday 03/12/2014

Primetime Review: FX renews ‘Archer’ for a pair of new seasons

Wednesday 02/26/2014

Prime Time Review: New Godzilla poster debuts a massive king of monsters

Wednesday 02/19/2014

Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman: The death of a complicated man

Wednesday 01/29/2014

When does fame stop being an excuse?

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Will 2014 be the year of streaming media?

Wednesday 01/01/2014

Start the year with science at UA Mirror Lab

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Is Disney snatching up all your childhood heroes?

Wednesday 12/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Spike Lee’s ‘Oldboy’ remake holds true to the original

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Prime Time Review: Hottest electronics this holiday season

Wednesday 11/20/2013

Primetime Review: El Tour de Tucson rides into town

Wednesday 11/06/2013

Prime Time Review: Horror fans rejoice, Bruce Campbell slated to return as Ash in ‘Army of Darkness 2’

Wednesday 10/23/2013

Prime Time Review: ‘South Park’ falls short of airing deadline for the first time

Wednesday 10/09/2013

Prime Time Review: Prolific author Tom Clancy dies in Baltimore at 66

Wednesday 09/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Grand Theft Auto V lives up to the hype

Wednesday 09/18/2013

Prime Time Review: New iPhone reveals Apple’s ups and downs?

Wednesday 09/11/2013

Jack Nicholson’s ‘retirement’ causes a stir. But is it true?

Wednesday 09/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Lessons to be learned from 2013’s summer films

Wednesday 08/21/2013

‘The Civil Wars’ bittersweet rise to number one

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll