Prime Time Review - La Cocina Provides Positive Local Outlet for Music - Tucson Local Media: Prime Time Review

Prime Time Review - La Cocina Provides Positive Local Outlet for Music

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Evan Hofmann

Posted: Sunday, March 31, 2013 3:16 pm | Updated: 3:18 pm, Sun Mar 31, 2013.

Late desert evenings carry with them a certain mysticism; quiet, yet full of life, possessing warmness and camaraderie in the most unexpected places. The dark alleyways of Tucson’s Church Avenue and Washington street ooze with this mysticism. Bouts of distant laughter cut the stillness of the air, and a closer look through the rustic wooden gates of La Cocina reveals a cozy conglomerate of friends huddled together in an old adobe building, drinks in hand, as they watch local Tucson band Ex-Cowboy serenade those in attendance. There are smiles all around, and everyone is basking in the celebration of Tucson’s local solidarity. From an outsider’s perspective this is a special moment in time, but for La Cocina’s friendly staff, this is Thursday. This magic occurs every night at the local eatery, bar, and music venue. And with additional local and national musicians pouring in to grace La Cocina’s stage, there is no doubt that the enchantment will continue to flourish for some time.

Located in the Old Town Artisans section of downtown Tucson, La Cocina’s establishment is rich with history. Its foundation lays atop the site of El Presidio San Augustin del Tucson, a Spanish fort constructed in 1775. Apache raids were commonly thwarted along the north wall of present day La Cocina before the site opened to public merchants and civilians in the wake of the construction of adobe buildings in the 1850’s. In fact, those who pay attention to detail may even spot saguaro cactus ribs along the ceiling, packing crates, or whiskey barrel staves with remnants of imported wallpaper and gold-leaf mouldings that are over 150 years old.

Under new management in 2010, La Cocina’s current operators embrace this historical background, and have found a way to meld it with a current artistic aura that surrounds Tucson’s music culture. Housing both an indoor and outdoor music area, La Cocina accommodates performers of all genres. Bands that play a more mellow style of music are given a dinner-hour time slot, while more aggressive styles begin in the late evening and continue until the early morning hours. This dichotomy allows for a diverse clientele within La Cocina’s walls, and an even more diverse fluctuation in musical acts.

Though the business houses a somewhat mercurial variety of performances, this is not what sets it apart from other musical venues in Tucson. What truly makes La Cocina standout is its ability to conjure a laid back atmosphere night-in and night-out. Diehard music lovers and casual socializers alike have found a frequent home at La Cocina.

“People can come and hangout without letting the show interfere with their conversation, while at the same time, people can come expecting to see a concert and not be bothered by those who are just there to socialize”, Said frequent La Cocina performer Logan Greene of local rock band Logan Green and the Bricks. “Some venues don't really have a way to balance that, but something about the vibe at La Cocina does the trick”.

La Cocina has much more to offer than an average restaurant or music venue. It has become a public outlet of art and a hub of positive social gatherings. It harbors a special vibration as an avenue of opportunity for artists and an upbeat destination for entertainment seekers. In this way, La Cocina is a community venue, one that is much needed, appreciated, and utilized by people of all backgrounds.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Wednesday 12/17/2014

The Loft Insider: “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Gamer's Scoop - Blizzard donates World of Warcraft pet sales to Ebola Relief

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Tucson Symphony Orchestra to perform Disney classic Burt Reynolds hoping for deliverance from financial woes

Wednesday 11/12/2014

‘Interstellar’ solidifies director’s legacy

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Suge Knight and Katt Williams arrested for robbery in Beverly Hills

Wednesday 10/29/2014

Netflix offers hidden Halloween treats

Wednesday 10/22/2014

Prime Time Review: Disney may be planning three Obi-Wan Star Wars movies

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Tucson crawling with Halloween events

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Prime Time Review: University of Arizona and Fox Theatre team up for new downtown lecture series

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Prime Time Review: NCIS: New Orleans coming to your TV soon

Wednesday 08/27/2014

Prime Time Review: Two new ‘Jungle Book’ movies hitting theaters soon

Wednesday 08/20/2014

Prime Time Review: Waves of “Blackfish” documentary start to hit SeaWorld

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Will Arnett announces more ‘Arrested Development’

Wednesday 08/06/2014

Prime Time Review: Indie rock princess poised to hit mainstream

Wednesday 07/30/2014

Prime Time Review: Two upcoming shows hip-hop heads should not miss

Wednesday 07/23/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Goosebumps’ film coming next summer

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Primetime Review: Marvel continues to build with “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Prime Time Review: North Korea threatens war over movie

Wednesday 06/25/2014

Prime Time Review: Tucsonan selected for CBS Reality TV

Wednesday 06/18/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix

Wednesday 06/04/2014

Prime Time Review: X-Men: Days of Future Past - where does it stand?

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Prime Time Review: Microsoft announces new version of Xbox without Kinect

Thursday 05/22/2014

Prime Time Review - Four summer films Likely to disappoint viewers

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Prime Time Review - Star Wars: Episode VII casting draws praise from Hamill, mixed reactions from fans

Wednesday 04/23/2014

Prime Time Review: AC/DC refutes retirement rumors despite absences

Wednesday 04/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Which “Colbert” will appear on “The Late Show”?

Wednesday 04/09/2014

David Letterman announces retirement

Wednesday 03/19/2014

Prime Time Review - Guided by Voices enhances prolific reputation

Wednesday 03/12/2014

Primetime Review: FX renews ‘Archer’ for a pair of new seasons

Wednesday 02/26/2014

Prime Time Review: New Godzilla poster debuts a massive king of monsters

Wednesday 02/19/2014

Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman: The death of a complicated man

Wednesday 01/29/2014

When does fame stop being an excuse?

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Will 2014 be the year of streaming media?

Wednesday 01/01/2014

Start the year with science at UA Mirror Lab

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Is Disney snatching up all your childhood heroes?

Wednesday 12/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Spike Lee’s ‘Oldboy’ remake holds true to the original

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Prime Time Review: Hottest electronics this holiday season

Wednesday 11/20/2013

Primetime Review: El Tour de Tucson rides into town

Wednesday 11/06/2013

Prime Time Review: Horror fans rejoice, Bruce Campbell slated to return as Ash in ‘Army of Darkness 2’

Wednesday 10/23/2013

Prime Time Review: ‘South Park’ falls short of airing deadline for the first time

Wednesday 10/09/2013

Prime Time Review: Prolific author Tom Clancy dies in Baltimore at 66

Wednesday 09/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Grand Theft Auto V lives up to the hype

Wednesday 09/18/2013

Prime Time Review: New iPhone reveals Apple’s ups and downs?

Wednesday 09/11/2013

Jack Nicholson’s ‘retirement’ causes a stir. But is it true?

Wednesday 09/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Lessons to be learned from 2013’s summer films

Wednesday 08/21/2013

‘The Civil Wars’ bittersweet rise to number one

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Primetime Review: Amber Tamblyn to guest star on “Two and a Half Men”

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…