Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff - Tucson Local Media: Prime Time Review

Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Evan Hofmann

Posted: Wednesday, February 19, 2014 4:00 am

Fans of the now defunct hit sitcom “How I Met Your Mother” can attest to the fact that though the show was resoundingly successful, it also seemed to wear out its welcome during its final seasons. Some of the story lines became slightly overblown, as if writers were reaching desperately for ideas to carry the story into the next episode. Naturally, a large number of internet bloggers were skeptical when CBS announced that it had given the green light for a spinoff series entitled “How I Met Your Dad”. 

Skepticism aside however, CBS executives have done their homework, and they just may have an ace up their sleeve in the form of their incoming leading actress, Greta Gerwig. 

Gerwig is an indie film fan favorite, possessing a resume filled with loveable performances as girls next door and socially inelegant heroines. The most famous of these characters was her leading role in the instant cult classic “Frances Ha”, where Gerwig plays an awkwardly loveable free spirit who’s foibles and quirks are as cute as a button. The performance was masterful, and earning Gerwig a Golden Globe nomination for best actress. 

In her new upcoming sitcom, Gerwig will channel her inner “Frances” once more in order to play Sally, a young New York woman with a Peter Pan Syndrome-esque inability to grow up. The shows plotline will revolve around Sally’s recounting of events leading up to her failed marriage. 

Given the character archetype, and Gerwig’s prior experience, it would appear that CBS is looking to cash in on its own socially hip and clumsily enchanting female star in a similar vein to Fox’s Zooey Deschanel or NBC’s Tina Fey. 

The mold of a female infectious charmer meets slapstick comic is nothing new to television. It began with Lucille Ball in the 1950’s and stretches across television history and into the present. Gerwig fits perfectly into this circle of leading women.  

What makes Gerwig’s talents extra valuable, however, is the fact that they exceed far beyond that of acting in front of a camera. CBS’s new golden girl is also an accomplished writer, having taken on writing duties for four feature length films, including her magnum opus “Frances Ha”. Gerwig will lend her pen to the story lines of her new sitcom, teaming up with “How I Met Your Mother” lead writer Carter Bays as well as “Saturday Night Live” writer Emily Spivey. 

In addition, Gerwig will be taking on producing duties for the series. This will give the “How I Met Your Dad” just the right hint of authenticity, as Gerwig has succeeded in persuading executives to use New York as the upcoming sitcoms back drop. 

Gerwig has already enraptured the hearts of indie film fanatics, seemingly enticed the interest of NBC executives, and will more than likely win over the rest of the nation with her idiosyncratic likeability. NBC has made the perfect choice in the selection of the multi-talented actress as their next bright star to bring the “How I Met Your Mother” franchise back to television.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Wednesday 12/17/2014

The Loft Insider: “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Gamer's Scoop - Blizzard donates World of Warcraft pet sales to Ebola Relief

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Tucson Symphony Orchestra to perform Disney classic Burt Reynolds hoping for deliverance from financial woes

Wednesday 11/12/2014

‘Interstellar’ solidifies director’s legacy

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Suge Knight and Katt Williams arrested for robbery in Beverly Hills

Wednesday 10/29/2014

Netflix offers hidden Halloween treats

Wednesday 10/22/2014

Prime Time Review: Disney may be planning three Obi-Wan Star Wars movies

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Tucson crawling with Halloween events

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Prime Time Review: University of Arizona and Fox Theatre team up for new downtown lecture series

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Prime Time Review: NCIS: New Orleans coming to your TV soon

Wednesday 08/27/2014

Prime Time Review: Two new ‘Jungle Book’ movies hitting theaters soon

Wednesday 08/20/2014

Prime Time Review: Waves of “Blackfish” documentary start to hit SeaWorld

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Will Arnett announces more ‘Arrested Development’

Wednesday 08/06/2014

Prime Time Review: Indie rock princess poised to hit mainstream

Wednesday 07/30/2014

Prime Time Review: Two upcoming shows hip-hop heads should not miss

Wednesday 07/23/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Goosebumps’ film coming next summer

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Primetime Review: Marvel continues to build with “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Prime Time Review: North Korea threatens war over movie

Wednesday 06/25/2014

Prime Time Review: Tucsonan selected for CBS Reality TV

Wednesday 06/18/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix

Wednesday 06/04/2014

Prime Time Review: X-Men: Days of Future Past - where does it stand?

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Prime Time Review: Microsoft announces new version of Xbox without Kinect

Thursday 05/22/2014

Prime Time Review - Four summer films Likely to disappoint viewers

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Prime Time Review - Star Wars: Episode VII casting draws praise from Hamill, mixed reactions from fans

Wednesday 04/23/2014

Prime Time Review: AC/DC refutes retirement rumors despite absences

Wednesday 04/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Which “Colbert” will appear on “The Late Show”?

Wednesday 04/09/2014

David Letterman announces retirement

Wednesday 03/19/2014

Prime Time Review - Guided by Voices enhances prolific reputation

Wednesday 03/12/2014

Primetime Review: FX renews ‘Archer’ for a pair of new seasons

Wednesday 02/26/2014

Prime Time Review: New Godzilla poster debuts a massive king of monsters

Wednesday 02/19/2014

Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman: The death of a complicated man

Wednesday 01/29/2014

When does fame stop being an excuse?

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Will 2014 be the year of streaming media?

Wednesday 01/01/2014

Start the year with science at UA Mirror Lab

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Is Disney snatching up all your childhood heroes?

Wednesday 12/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Spike Lee’s ‘Oldboy’ remake holds true to the original

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Prime Time Review: Hottest electronics this holiday season

Wednesday 11/20/2013

Primetime Review: El Tour de Tucson rides into town

Wednesday 11/06/2013

Prime Time Review: Horror fans rejoice, Bruce Campbell slated to return as Ash in ‘Army of Darkness 2’

Wednesday 10/23/2013

Prime Time Review: ‘South Park’ falls short of airing deadline for the first time

Wednesday 10/09/2013

Prime Time Review: Prolific author Tom Clancy dies in Baltimore at 66

Wednesday 09/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Grand Theft Auto V lives up to the hype

Wednesday 09/18/2013

Prime Time Review: New iPhone reveals Apple’s ups and downs?

Wednesday 09/11/2013

Jack Nicholson’s ‘retirement’ causes a stir. But is it true?

Wednesday 09/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Lessons to be learned from 2013’s summer films

Wednesday 08/21/2013

‘The Civil Wars’ bittersweet rise to number one

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Primetime Review: Amber Tamblyn to guest star on “Two and a Half Men”

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…