The Hidden Costs of Owning a Pet - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

The Hidden Costs of Owning a Pet

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, July 13, 2013 3:00 pm

America is a nation of pet lovers. About half the nation’s households include a dog or a cat, and they spend $53 billion yearly on pet expenses, ranging from food to vet bills to toys.

Some go a bit overboard. A whopping $370 million is spent on pet costumes yearly. But even more shocking is the toll our animals take on our electronics budget. American pets have bitten, chewed, licked, and otherwise damaged over eight million electronic devices, amounting to over $3 billion in repair and replacement costs.

Considering that one of every three devices damaged by pets is a smartphone, this could mean up to $800 in replacement costs whenever your animal runs amok.

The risk of pet-related accidents increases the more pets are treated as family members. According to new research from SquareTrade, if you drive with your pet in your lap, you’re over twice as likely to damage your device. And letting a pet sleep in bed with you triples your chances.

Meanwhile, giving your pet too much independence can also increase risk. Two-thirds of pet-related accidents involving devices happened while the pet was unsupervised.

Accidental Personalities

Every furry friend comes with its own unique personality, and unique set of dangers.

For example, the SquareTrade study found that 21 percent of accidents happened while the owner was using the device.

A temperamental personality can also be a red flag. Seventeen percent of pet owners believe their animal friend damaged their device because it was angry with them.

And homes with different pet species are more susceptible to mishaps. Those with both a cat and dog are four times more likely to have accidents with electronics compared to homes with one or the other.

Fido Protection

Despite the growing popularity of pet insurance, many owners don’t realize this kind of insurance doesn’t cover damage caused by their pets. In fact, three out of four devices damaged were not covered by any kind of warranty.

While there’s no sure way to prevent pet-related accidents, consumers can protect themselves by getting a protection plan. For example, SquareTrade Protection Plans cover against accidents, like a device getting batted off the kitchen counter, falling in a water bowl or finding its way into the wrong paws. They also cover mechanical and electrical issues, like antennae and Wi-Fi failure, a broken dock connector, or touch-screen failure.

And these plans are hassle-free. If your device breaks, SquareTrade sends a replacement within two to five days. All you have to do is mail your broken device back, free. If it is an Apple product, SquareTrade even lets you take it to the Apple Genius Bar to get fixed instead. And if your pet strikes more than once, you’re covered: up to four repairs or replacements per plan.

More information is available at www.squaretrade.com, by visiting sites like Amazon and eBay, or in such stores as Costco and Sam’s Club.

Pets all need exercise, training and attention from their owners. But they sometimes find inconvenient ways to show us.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Tuesday 03/18/2014

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center’s new tent is open for business

Thursday 03/13/2014

Pet News - Happy Holly got a second chance

Tuesday 03/11/2014

Pet News - Puttin' on the Dog

Thursday 03/06/2014

Pet News - The Hermitage Bowl-a-thon

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…