Pet News - Learn Pet First Aid to become a lifesaver - The Explorer: Pet News

Pet News - Learn Pet First Aid to become a lifesaver

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, April 8, 2013 7:59 pm

Knowing how to properly administer First Aid on your pet could make the difference between life and death in an emergency. The Humane Society of Southern Arizona’s Pet Safety &First Aid Class offers the area’s most comprehensive training for both dog and cat owners, blending classroom instruction and hands-on application with animal mannequins.

“We sometimes overlook the importance of knowing basics of pet first aid and the HSSA wants pet owners to be knowledgeable and confident should a life-risking situation arise,” said Samantha Esquivel HSSA’s Public Relations Lead.  

The Pet Safety & First Aid Class will be 1-5 p.m. Friday, April 13, at the Companions for Life Center at 3465 E. Kleindale, around the corner from the main shelter. The class fee is $50.

Participants will learn:

· Emergency First Aid

· How to recognize an emergency without becoming a victim yourself

· What information to collect to assist your veterinarian

· How to administer on a dog or cat

· Abdominal thrust

· Disease prevention

· How to identify: poisons, environmental hazards, predators, abuse, neglect and cruelty

· How to safely handle an animal without getting bitten   

To register for the HSSA Pet Safety & First Aid Class visit hssaz.org or call Inge Koopman-Leyva at 520-321-3704, ext. 142.

 

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

2 comments:

  • Guy Sana posted at 6:17 am on Sat, Apr 13, 2013.

    Guy Sana Posts: 1

    Thanks - I got three things there... good link

     
  • MMH posted at 6:41 pm on Tue, Apr 9, 2013.

    MMH Posts: 1

    That's great... we get many, many customers that ask for referrals for Pet CPR & First Aid Classes. We sell some amazing Pet First Aid Kits - Dog 1st Aid, Cat 1st Aid, Horse Too, and even though they all come with outstanding and thorough Pet First Aid guides, some people just want the "hands-on" experience (after all, even if one knows human CPR and First Aid, our furry friends' anatomy is quite different.) Offering a class specifically for kids would be brilliant, too - after all, when a family has kids and pets, they are most often found together! http://www.first-aid-product.com/consumer/pet.htm

    [cool]

     

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Tuesday 03/18/2014

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center’s new tent is open for business

Thursday 03/13/2014

Pet News - Happy Holly got a second chance

Tuesday 03/11/2014

Pet News - Puttin' on the Dog

Thursday 03/06/2014

Pet News - The Hermitage Bowl-a-thon

Monday 03/03/2014

Pet News - Hogs N Hounds Charity Ride

Friday 02/28/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- March 1

Monday 02/24/2014

Pet News - Tails & Ales Dog Wash 2014 - Barrio Brewery

Tuesday 02/18/2014

Pet News - Single Mingle: Do a good deed, have a great time and meet others at dog walk/cat cuddle only for singles

Monday 02/17/2014

Pet News - Movies with the cats "little shop of horrors"

Friday 02/14/2014

Pet News - Free Kitty February! We’ve got (too many) fabulous felines waiting to charm

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Pet News - Meet the new shelter veterinarian at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 02/10/2014

Pet News - February is Pet Dental Health Month: Are Your Dog’s Teeth Healthy?

Thursday 02/06/2014

Pet News - Hermitage Cat Shelter "Thrift Store & More" Grand Opening & Ribbon Cutting Event

Tuesday 02/04/2014

Pet News - Canine College

Wednesday 01/29/2014

Pet News - Hold onto your hats (and collars): Pima Animal Care Center is about to enter an "Empty the Shelter" challenge

Monday 01/27/2014

Pet News - The Million for Tucson Raffle

Thursday 01/23/2014

Pet News - Community service for students at Humane Society
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…