Pet News - It's time to "Primp Your Pit" - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Pet News - It's time to "Primp Your Pit"

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, July 22, 2013 8:50 am

Spay or neuter your pit bull mix for just $20 during August at the Humane Society of Southern Arizona!

As part of the “Primp Your Pit” event, you will also get a free nail trim for your pooch! The HSSA will spay and neuter 200 pit bull mixes at this special rate, which applies to all residents of southern Arizona.

The Humane Society of Southern Arizona, a local and independent nonprofit is helping to solve this problem of animal overpopulation by participating in PetSmart Charities®’ “Primp Your Pit” August spay/neuter campaign. This year, PetSmart Charities is providing more than $394,000 in funding so 49

animal welfare organizations in 24 states can perform 6,248 surgeries on pit bull mixed dogs during the month of August.

“No one wants to see homeless pets live their lives in a shelter - it’s heartbreaking. Overpopulation is a problem in southern Arizona and thankfully, we know how to solve this problem. Spaying/neutering a pet is the most effective thing owners can do to prevent unwanted litters from

being born that will ultimately end up in local shelters,” says Samantha Esquivel, Public Relations Lead.

It is estimated that 35 percent of dogs and cats in U.S. households are not spayed or neutered, yet the procedure is one of the most effective ways to reduce the homeless pet population. Unfortunately, pit bulls end up in shelters in large numbers due to myths and negative publicity, which impact public perceptions of the breed.

For pet parents who may be hesitant to get their young puppies sterilized, it’s important to note that the American Veterinary Medical Association endorses spaying and neutering puppies as young as 8 to 10 weeks old. Research shows that the procedure may improve the behavior and health of the pet, including reducing the risk of certain reproductive cancers and infections.

Pit bull parents who wish to take advantage of this special offer must mention the “Primp Your Pit” promotion when they schedule their appointments. The promotion is based on availability. Please visit

hssaz.org or call 520-881-0321 for more information or to schedule an appointment.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Tuesday 03/18/2014

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center’s new tent is open for business

Thursday 03/13/2014

Pet News - Happy Holly got a second chance

Tuesday 03/11/2014

Pet News - Puttin' on the Dog

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…