Pet News - Dog Days in the Desert Summer Programs - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Pet News - Dog Days in the Desert Summer Programs

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, April 26, 2013 12:20 pm

Dog Days in the Desert provides children with in-depth, hands-on education about animal care and the human-animal bond. Our curriculum-based activities require a high level of participation from the enrolled children. Participants will enjoy a variety of classroom activities, creative and artistic exercises; hands-on animal care and character-building lessons that will stimulate their minds and their consciousness.

During Dog Days 2013 programs, children will be divided up by age groups and topics will vary depending on the group for which they are registered. Topics will include but are not limited to, New Pet Ownership and Responsibility, Animal Handling and Bite Safety, Kindness and Compassion, Pet Adoption Promotions, Domestication of Cats and Dogs, Native Wild Animal Habitat and Ecology, Building Pet Living Areas and Careers.

 

Dates of 2013 Summer Programs: 

Freshmen Programs (ages 6-8): 

Pampered Paws & Cuddle Companions:

Monday-Thursday, June 3-6

Pet Vet: Caring for Furry and Four-Legged Friends at the Children's Museum: Monday-Thursday, July 15-18

Junior Programs (ages 9-11):  

Featured Pet Productions: Monday-Thursday, June 10-13

When Dogs Were Wolves and Cats Were Wild: Monday-Thursday, July 8-12 

Senior Programs (ages 12-14): 

Junior Vet: Caring Careers: Monday-Thursday, June 17-20

Pet Pads and Cool Cribs: Monday-Thursday, July 22-25 

Time: 9–3 p.m. daily 

Program Description: These fun and instructive four-day programs use classroom activites, individual and group projects, arts and crafts, guest speakers and hands-on animal interaction to teach children about animal care and their humane responsibility toward animals. A large part of the daily curriculum will include foster care of Humane Society shelter animals, particularly puppies, kittens, and several smaller animals like rabbits, guinea pigs and gerbils. 

At the end of the four-day program, participants will celebrate in a fun recognition party. 

Location and Address: HSSA Companions for Life Center, 3465 East Kleindale Rd.

Fees: $225 for public; $200 for HIP members; $225 to register for camp and HIP membership

Contact info for staff: Inge Koopman-Leyva (520) 321-3704, ext. 142, or email  ikoopmanleyva@hssaz.org., fax (520) 382-2994 

Limited scholarships may be available. Please do not register online if you are interested in a scholarship!  Please call (520) 321-3704, ext. 142, for more information.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Monday 12/15/2014

Pet News - Woman with “passion” for pets leaves legacy for HSSA

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Pet News - Christmas Day Dog Walk

Monday 12/08/2014

Pet News - HSSA and Subaru Sharing the Love for pets

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll