Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 4:38 pm

More than 30,000 cases of Lyme disease are reported each year, making it the most commonly reported vector-borne illness in the US, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Make sure your family isn’t part of that number.

As the warmer months coax us outside, reducing the risk of tick bites is essential to protecting your family from Lyme disease and its potential long-term, devastating effects.

Lyme disease can cause facial or Bell’s palsy, severe headaches, neck stiffness, heart palpitations, and pain and swelling in large joints. However, it’s difficult to diagnose, as symptoms can be attributed to other health problems. Left untreated, approximately 60 percent of Lyme disease sufferers experience arthritis, while five percent develop chronic neurological challenges months or years after the infection.

“Had I understood the potential severity of Lyme disease and taken the threat seriously, I might have saved my children from years of suffering,” says Jennifer Reid, a mother of two children affected by Lyme disease and Community Coordinator for the BLAST Lyme Disease Prevention Program. “Prevention is possible.”

BLAST is a helpful acronym representing basic tick bite prevention measures -- Bathe, Look for ticks, Apply repellants, Spray the yard and Treat your pets. Additionally, Reid recommends taking these simple steps:

For People

• Avoid wooded and busy areas with high grass and leaf litter.

• Apply repellent to exposed skin and clothing before outdoor activities.

• Bathe or shower right after spending time outdoors and conduct a full-body tick check. Use a mirror to see hard to reach places such as the under arms, belly button, scalp, and behind the knees.

For Pets

• Check pets for ticks daily and remove them as soon as possible.

• Talk with your veterinarian about using tick preventatives on your pet.

• Watch pets closely for changes in behavior or appetite. This may indicate Lyme disease infection.

In Your Yard

• Place a wood chip or gravel barrier between your lawn, patio, and play equipment and any wooded areas. This will restrict tick migration into recreational areas.

• Mow the lawn frequently and keep leaves raked.

• Keep playground equipment and patios away from yard edges and trees and place them in sunny locations, if possible.

• Pest control products can help protect your family from tick bites, according to RISE (Responsible Industry for a Sound Environment), a national trade association. On a seasonal basis, consult a professional to spray the perimeter.

Get more tips to become a “backyard boss” and protect your family against hidden lawn and landscape risks by visiting   http://blog.debugthemyth.com.

This season, take charge of your backyard and learn how to protect your family.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Monday 12/15/2014

Pet News - Woman with “passion” for pets leaves legacy for HSSA

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Pet News - Christmas Day Dog Walk

Monday 12/08/2014

Pet News - HSSA and Subaru Sharing the Love for pets

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll