Pet News - Anticipating Household Dangers Can Save Your Pet's Life - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Pet News - Anticipating Household Dangers Can Save Your Pet's Life

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, March 29, 2013 2:17 pm

Household pets are adorably curious, but they can’t read labels or plant their own gardens.

One of the biggest mistakes pet owners can make is to underestimate a pet’s curiosity and overlook dangers of common household items, both indoors and outdoors. It’s up to us to read labels for them, make sure cleaning chemicals and other toxins are out of reach and maintain gardens that stimulate our pets’ curiosity with safety in mind.

“Responsible pet ownership is about more than feeding your pet nutritious meals and going on walks.  It’s more holistic -- it’s a lot like caring for a child,” says Dr. Tiffany Bierer, health and nutritional sciences manager at Mars Petcare US. “You need to anticipate certain dangers and remove them from the realm of possibility. That’s what we did in our office and it only takes a little effort to do the same at home.”

Mars Petcare US, knows all about designing spaces with pet safety as a top priority, particularly when it comes to common toxins.  Safety measures are fundamental since the company’s employees are encouraged to bring their dogs to work each day. But the type of thoughtful and preventative planning they’ve deployed throughout their office isn’t reserved only for pet food companies -- it’s within reach for every pet owner in their own homes.

As such, pet owners could borrow a few tips from the makers of Pedigree, Cesar and Sheba pet foods: 

• Be mindful of toxic plants. Many common plants, such as Azaleas, Oleander, Daffodils, Lilies, Tulips and Hyacinth, are toxic to pets and should be avoided in indoor and outdoor areas where pets are free to roam. Many mushrooms also present dangers, including death. It’s important to do your research since mushrooms can be difficult to identify.

• Use caution when applying garden poisons, insecticides and fertilizers. Many gardeners use traps for small rodents, snails and slugs. These are extremely toxic if consumed, requiring immediate veterinary attention. 

• Most over-the-counter insecticides and fertilizers can upset a pet’s stomach, but some contain more dangerous chemicals that can cause death if consumed. It’s important to follow directions when applying a chemical to your yard and keep pets away from the area. Inform neighbors when applying insecticides and fertilizers since these products can drift in light winds, and always store them in controlled areas.  

• Always store household cleaning supplies in controlled spaces. Like insecticides and fertilizers, household cleaners should be stored in controlled spaces since they can cause death very quickly. Batteries, fire logs and glue should also be kept out of reach of pets.  

• Keep toxic foods and medicines out of reach. Chocolate, raisins, sugar-free gum, star fruit and grapes are toxic to pets and should be kept out of reach, just like ibuprofen and amphetamine medications.

“Following these tips is the next best thing to teaching pets to read labels,” says Dr. Bierer. “It not only makes your home a safer place for your pets, it makes it safer overall.”

If you suspect your pet has consumed a toxic substance, immediately contact your veterinarian or the Pet Poison Hotline at 800-231-6680. To learn more about preparing your home for pets, visit www.banfield.com or www.petpoisonhelpline.com.

A little preparation can help ensure your pet’s safety.

© 2014 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Monday 12/15/2014

Pet News - Woman with “passion” for pets leaves legacy for HSSA

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Pet News - Christmas Day Dog Walk

Monday 12/08/2014

Pet News - HSSA and Subaru Sharing the Love for pets

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Catalina Bighorn Sheep Releases

Arizona Game and Fish released 30 Bighorn Sheep in a 2-Day period into the Catalina Mountains ...

More Featured Videos
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll