Music Landscape: Tucson Symphony String Quartet featured in November Just for Kids - The Explorer: Music Landscape - Past, Present, Local

Music Landscape: Tucson Symphony String Quartet featured in November Just for Kids

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, October 22, 2012 3:04 pm

The next programs in the Tucson Symphony Orchestra’s Just for Kids Series are Saturday, November 3 with two performances of Princesses, Superheroes and Pirates…Oh, My at 10 a.m. and again at 11:15 am at the Tucson Symphony Center, 2175 N. Sixth Ave. (1 block south of Grant) and one performance of Carnival of the Animals at 10 a.m. that day at the Town Hall, 11000 North La Cañada Drive (at Naranja) in Oro Valley.

Just for Kids is a popular series of fun, informal, interactive chamber ensemble concerts lasting 45 to 50 minutes. The performances use humor, story-telling, demonstrations and participation to introduce classical music and orchestral instruments in an entertaining and kid-friendly environment to families including those with very young children. The programs are presented on the first Saturday morning of each month from October through March. There is ample free parking at the Tucson Symphony Center. The Just for Kids performances at the Town Hall in Oro Valley will be presented at 10:00 a.m. on the first Saturdays of November and December.

The story of Princesses, Superheroes and Pirates…Oh, My at the Tucson Symphony Center begins with the audience! They are the beautiful princesses, daring superheroes and brave buccaneers travelling with the TSO String Quartet on a journey to find the magical song to save the world, maybe even find a treasure! Costume, tiaras and capes are encouraged!

Journey into the world of the animals at the Oro Valley Town Hall as the TSO Woodwind Quintet brings to life Camille Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals. Travel through forests and ponds with music illustrating playful amphibians in a new animal adventure! Come dressed as your favorite animal or bring your (stuffed) animal friends for a morning filled with music, stories and fun.

For more information about the Tucson Symphony Center Just for Kids program, call the TSO box office at (520) 882-8585 or visit www.tucsonsymphony.org. TSO Box Office hours are Monday through Friday from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. Admission is free, with a suggested $3 per person donation. The Just for Kids concert series at the Tucson Symphony Center is sponsored by the National Bank of Arizona and the Mary S. Gorin Fund.

For information about the Southern Arizona Arts and Cultural Alliance Just for Kids presentation at the Oro Valley Town Hall visit www.saaca.org or call (520) 797-3959. The Oro Valley Just for Kids sponsor is Bill Adler.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Tuesday 09/16/2014

Review: Casualties of Cool Music Landscape - Florida Georgia Line in Tucson

Thursday 05/09/2013

Music Landscape: Gabriel Ayala Quintet play JazzMenco at Ventana

Monday 03/25/2013

2013 Country Thunder ready to roll in Arizona: More on-site entertainment than ever before

Thursday 01/24/2013

Music Landscape: Flute, viola and harp music from Tucson Symphony Orchestra to engage kids, Feb. 2

Thursday 11/29/2012

Music Landscape: Artur Penha Soares Y2012 Concert Series

Wednesday 11/28/2012

Music Landscape: Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra Remaining Season

Monday 11/26/2012

Music Landscape: SAWC presents a retro Christmas concert Dec. 14 & 16

Tuesday 11/13/2012

Music Landscape: Country Thunder 2013 lineup released

Friday 11/09/2012

Strait Country returns to the Monsoon Nightclub for a free show

Wednesday 11/07/2012

La Encantada Fine Art Festival this weekend

Tuesday 11/06/2012

Music Landscape - Judy Roberts and Greg Fishman at Skyline Country Club on Friday

Tuesday 10/23/2012

Music Landscape - UA Opera Theater

Monday 10/22/2012

Music Landscape: Tucson Symphony String Quartet featured in November Just for Kids Music Landscape - Afrojack brings his ‘Jacked’ tour to Kino Sports Complex on Friday, Oct. 26

Tuesday 10/02/2012

Grammy Winner Steve Winwood coming to Tucson

Tuesday 09/18/2012

Music Landscape - Steve Holy is Coming to “Thursday Thunder” in the Monsoon Nightclub

Tuesday 09/04/2012

Music Landscape: Get up close with popular country band Little Texas

Friday 08/24/2012

Papa Roach forced to withdraw from Rockstar Energy Drink Uproar Festival

Thursday 08/02/2012

The Split Livers to play at Club Congress

Thursday 07/26/2012

Music Landscape - Split Livers coming to Club Congress

Thursday 07/19/2012

Music Landscape - Rockstar Energy Drink UPROAR set for September in Phoenix

Wednesday 07/18/2012

Music Landscape - Kansas Leftoverture Side 2

Monday 07/02/2012

Music Landscape - Chaos Ascending, Hemoptysis, and more

Monday 06/18/2012

Scorpions, Tesla draw large crowds in Phoenix, and Casino Del Sol in Tucson

Tuesday 06/05/2012

Music Landscape - Kansas Leftoverture Music Review

Friday 05/11/2012

Music Landscape - Dark Side of the Moon Part 2

Thursday 04/26/2012

Pink Floyd The Dark Side of the Moon (Part 1)

Thursday 04/19/2012

Music Landscape - MTV (Then and Now)

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…
Loading…