Anytime Fitness - John Miller - The Explorer: Fitness Challenge

Anytime Fitness - John Miller

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, January 12, 2012 8:52 am

Hi Fitness Fans!

This Anytime Fitness Challenge for me is both a work-in-progress and a learning process.

First, the progress . . . . My goal is to lose body fat, while gaining muscle. After this week's measurements, my personal trainer told me that I have lost over 1 1/2 inches around the stomach! And, at the same time, the measurements show that my thigh muscles are larger (probably due to the many repetitions of squat thrusts! :=)) ). I must admit, it sure was great news to hear of the loss of belly fat!

Second, the learning process . . . . I need to learn my physical limitations, and learn to back off when I have over-exerted a tendon or muscle. This week, while exercising at home, I managed to strain an ankle ligament, causing sharp pain when I walked. I learned a remedy for this, from my personal trainer, Mike Urbanski, H2I (hired to inspire). Mike told me to remember the acronym, R.I.C.E., which stands for Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevate. So I rested the ankle, took some time off from my work-outs, put ice on the ankle, compressed closely around the ankle, and kept my foot elevated. It worked well, the swelling went down, and after a few days, I was back at the Oracle Road Anytime Fitness center, working out once again.

I have also learned that diet is a major factor in a fitness program. My focus is to eat more fruit, vegetables, grains and legumes, and less meat and dairy. I am switching from dairy milk to either rice milk, almond milk or soy milk. When I do eat meat, its more turkey and fish, and less red meat. This should result in some major health improvements. Now, if I can just avoid the fast food joints and those all-you-can-eat buffets!!

Take care, eat right, exercise and stay fit !

John Miller

 

 

 

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Kino College

Kino CollegeEnroll today: http://www.kinocollege.com/

Monday 12/24/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Saturday 12/15/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Friday 11/30/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Sunday 11/25/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 11/15/2012

Fitness Challenge - Fitness Challenge

Friday 11/09/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 11/01/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Tuesday 10/30/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 10/18/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Wednesday 10/10/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 10/04/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Monday 10/01/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Sunday 09/30/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Saturday 09/15/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Saturday 09/08/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Friday 09/07/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 08/30/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Wednesday 08/29/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Friday 08/24/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Saturday 08/18/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Friday 08/10/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Sunday 08/05/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Friday 08/03/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Monday 07/30/2012

Fitness Challenge - Sara Summers

Saturday 07/28/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Monday 07/23/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Friday 07/20/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 07/19/2012

Fitness Challenge - Pamela Maldonado Fitness Challenge - Sara Summers

Friday 07/13/2012

Fitness Challenge - Pamela Maldonado Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Sunday 07/08/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds Anytime Fitness: Sara Summers

Sunday 07/01/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Friday 06/29/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Tuesday 06/26/2012

Fitness Challenge - Sara Summers

Tuesday 06/19/2012

Fitness Challenge - Sara Summers

Friday 06/15/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds

Thursday 06/14/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Monday 06/11/2012

Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Thursday 06/07/2012

Anytime Fitness: Catherine Reynolds

Tuesday 06/05/2012

Fitness Challenge - Sara Summers

Friday 06/01/2012

Fitness Challenge - Pamela Maldonado Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain

Tuesday 05/29/2012

Fitness Challenge - Sara Summers

Saturday 05/26/2012

Fitness Challenge - Catherine Reynolds Fitness Challenge - Erin Brittain
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…